Reviews For Black Mountain
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/04/06 - 12:00 am Title: Chapter Twenty Three

Aww. How sweet an ending was that?

No, seriously, awesome story. Had me gnawing at my lips like I was trying to draw my own blood--and, incidentally, when the idea of a transfusion occured to me in chap 22, I was engrossed thoroughly enough to spend a few minutes shouting at our three healers in a vain attempt to speed up their brainstorming. So, excellent, excellent job at sucking me in so well. This was a quite cleverly thought out story, and it left me very impressed. Excellent job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I know how easy it is to want to yell at the characters, when you think of a solution to their problem(s). Congrats on out-thinking the healers, or at least being quicker at it. :o) Anytime I can impress a reader, I'm thrilled, especially on a long story. Thanks again.

Reviewer: Alatariel Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/11/05 - 10:26 pm Title: Chapter Three

Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: Alatariel Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/11/05 - 10:21 pm Title: Chapter Two

Suspense... kinda, I know you are good at that... heh heh...Hold on, eading the next chapter... good job!

Author's Response: Yes, I love suspense. I try to do it well. Thank you.

Reviewer: Alatariel Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/11/05 - 10:14 pm Title: Chapter One

Okay, that's great! Let me keep reading, hold on...

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it. Please do keep reading.

Reviewer: shadow warrior Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/10/05 - 01:59 am Title: Chapter Six

at least it's not cause he's a prince...but this still begs the question...why legolas...why not elladan or ellohir?

Author's Response: No, being a prince has nothing to do with it. It could have been any of the elves. I just made it Legolas, because I happen to like Legolas angst more than nay other.

Reviewer: shadow warrior Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/05 - 09:55 pm Title: Chapter Six

at least it's not cause he's a prince...but this still begs the question...why legolas...why not elladan or ellohir?

Reviewer: shadow warrior Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/05 - 09:05 pm Title: Chapter One

this is my first review...i like this story so far...i guess i'll keep reading

Author's Response: i'm gald you like it. I hope you like the rest of it.

Reviewer: Adoralyna Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/02/05 - 09:48 pm Title: Chapter Nineteen

I need more! *goes to check ff.net* Truly wonderful, dear.

Author's Response: Ah, so you are being sneaky, going to ff.net. As you probably know by now, I have just posted the final chapter there. I hope you like the way the story ended. Thanks again for all your support.

Reviewer: Adoralyna Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/02/05 - 07:36 pm Title: Chapter Five

After loving The Wrong Path as much as I did, I keep wanting to read this story. I've started to numerous times but for some reason, I am always interrupted after the first or second chapter.

I've made it to five today and I am officially hooked! Your writing is so beautifully descriptive and you remain the queen of the cliffhangers. I'm rather glad to be getting into it so late so I don't have to wait to see many of them resolved.

I'm sure you write for your own enjoyment but all the same, thank you for posting such wonderful work. It is truly a privilege and a pleasure to read everything you write.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Adora. I really appreciate the wonderful things you say about my work. I do write for my own enjoyment, however, I always keep my readers in mind. I want to make whatever I write, good enough so they wont think theyve wasted their time reading. Your kind words re-enforce that idea for me. Readers like you make all the hard work worth the effort.

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/01/05 - 10:04 pm Title: Chapter Fifteen

Ooh, good sense of suspense there. Legolas's groggy thoughts were well portrayed; his half-oblivious state was both amusing and worrying. After that last line, I'm wager to see what you cause next!

Author's Response: Thank you. I try to add different elements into my stories, and suspense and humor are certainly two of them. I also like to leave my readers wondering what is coming next, but I'm sure you know that by now. :o)

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/01/05 - 08:13 pm Title: Chapter Fourteen

Holy crap. Well, that was beautiful. Great level of detail throughout, describing the process of both rescue and healing intimately enough that it formed a vivid picture. Then you slam us straight from relief and narration to what the heck, dying? Beautiful last four paragraphs, and pleease don't leave it there for long! Update, update!

Author's Response: Thank you. I had made so much of the bite wound that I thought going into detail about Estel trying to heal it rather than me just skimming over it was really the only right way to handle it. I just couldn't let well enough alone and end the chapter on a happy note. Im often evil that way. I'm rather proud of those last paragraphs, too. It shows everyone's emotions at that point, as well as the dire condition Legolas is in.

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/05 - 04:21 am Title: Chpater Twelve

Oh, perfect spot to leave off. Or perhaps not! Tell me, there's an update soon, yes? As in, quite soon? After all, you wouldn't wish to leave the poor Elf stuck under that rock for long, would you? He's not a fan of close rocks, you know, so it's not very kind to do something or the sort. And since I know you're a kindhearted person, that must mean that he'll soon be yanked free by Elrohir and the others, yes?
Anyway, this was nicely done. A good mix of suspense and character with a nice plot and sense of history to back everything up. The descriptions also added a nice element of reality to the story. I eagerly await the rest! :)

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/05 - 04:12 am Title: Chapter Ten

Oh charming! Not only eaten, but eaten alive. Just the fate you want to look forward to... *grimace* I love your bad-coincidences. All too often the only coincidences are good ones, but your sense of irony is well done and adds nicely to the story.

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/05 - 04:06 am Title: Chapter Nine

Of course; it wouldn't be a true "ALEE" story without mistaken death and an infected wound, would it? Heh. Very nicely done so far. Good descritions, and explanations as well. The picture of the mountain and the howler's cave is quite vivid and very well presented.

Author's Response: There are a lot of givens in an ALEE story, that's for sure. Again thank you for the complements. I work hard to give a good read to those who give me their time. I'm glad you are liking it.

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/05 - 03:37 am Title: Chapter Two

Hee hee, great start. Nice mix of humor and comraderie; but really, sending the four of them out together? Have you lost your mind? Do you honestly think Arda can survive that? ;)

Author's Response: Thank you. I appreciate the compliment. Could have thought of a better way to confront whatever was on Black Mountain than to send our four intreepid heroes up there? Could anything, no matter how dangerous, survive them? :o)

Reviewer: Noldo Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/09/04 - 12:14 pm Title: Chapter Two

A very well-written story!

I'm not sure about the name 'Orod Moru'...technically, it seems correct, but wouldn't you say 'Amon Môr' sounded nicer? Just a suggestion.
Of coursel,as a First Age fan, I'd suggest the Quenya 'Ortomorë' (literally: mountain-top-black), which definitely sounds lovely, but it's up to you.

As a story, this was very good. While canonically I don't support the ever-popular Aragorn-Legolas friendship theory, I must say that yours is very nice, one of the best I've read in a long while. It would be a shame if you abandoned this.

You must login (register) to review.