You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: wolfie83 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/08/10 - 04:38 am Title: Night Fight

This is an amazing story, definintely different than anything else I've ever read. Very refreshing, truly.

Reviewer: DarkDreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/07/07 - 06:25 pm Title: Lull

I enjoyed reading this, its very entertaining. I can't wait for the next chapter! Keep up the good work! ^-^

Author's Response: Is it alright if I take a moment to bask in the encouragement? Sometimes I doubt if the effort I expend is worth it, or if this story actually is as good as I think it is. . .and obviously my opinion is highly biased and doesn't really matter, so any crumb you throw me feels like a feast. Moment over, back to work as not to uttlerly disappoint . . .

Reviewer: DarkDreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/07/07 - 03:28 am Title: Screams in the Dark

Rotfl! that was an hullarious chapter! XD

Reviewer: ravingrevolution Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/07/07 - 12:15 am Title: Fragile Things: I

I must say I was wary about reading such a metafanfiction, but this story is phenomenal! The character development is amazing! I can't wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: My favorite stories are always the ones that take what should be a horrible, trite and predictable plot line, and turn it on its head with vivid language and characters with depth. Take Maya's "Drop Dead Gorgeous". How may Godawful Harry!Veela/Draco stories are there out there? How many make you shutter and cringe? Just that combination ought to be toxic and every one I’ve glimpsed has been, but holy fuck is it brilliant under Maya's steady pen, and all the more impressive for it. I know people who've read Maya's fics never having read a single Harry Potter book or seeing a Smallville episode and become immensely disillusioned when the real thing isn't as good as her fanfic. I'm no Maya, but I'd like to do the same with Mary Sues. They may have a horrible reputation, but they don't have to be horrible. I mean, Peter Jackson proved that fantasy films can be as moving, and gritty and real as any other. Why not fanfic? Why not treat Mary like she’s a real character instead of a tacked on amusing puppet? I could rant further, but I think I’ll stop now . . .

Reviewer: Elaura Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/10/06 - 04:13 pm Title: Fragile Things: I

Damn! Just when I thought Niobe was wrong . . . she gave it hope.

Author's Response: It wasn't Niobe.

Reviewer: Elaura Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/09/06 - 05:39 pm Title: Screams in the Dark

HILARIOUS! Loved "Pointy ears fell with style"! Bishounen too! I'm in Okinawa and you've hit Yumiko right on the mark!

Author's Response: How I miss Japan! Okinawa you say? I was in Yukosuka, with Camp Adventure as it were. Good times. Don't miss my barracks, but how I miss the mountains of Hakone and the Senjenken gardens. Every summer I get a craving for tempora, but what I've tasted here in the states doesn't compare to the hole-in-the-wall family run restaurants. The taste still lingers. By all means, continue reading and sending me reviews! The fine songline circle they walk is closing in. This story literally *needs* readers for fuel, I am not ashamed to admit. At least I can promise you'll enjoy it.

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/07/06 - 05:30 pm Title: Darkness and Starlight

What the [beeep] was that?!?

Author's Response: In regards to what? Everything? *mad/evil cackle*

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/04/06 - 11:25 pm Title: The Coming Night

Oh gods above, this can't be unfinished! (Not that I'm one to talk. But still!) I'm absolutely enraptured, and coming from someone inherently distrustful of cross-over fics, that's saying quite a bit. But you, my dear, are a perfectly marvelous writer. Your characters are amazing, and you pulled off the incredulous plot devices so well I didn't even flinch at zombie Elves. Well okay, so I did quite a bit more than flinch, but it wasn't because I didn't buy it. You even found a way to make them all converse without all being able to speak the same language--which is an excellent touch, by the way. Basically, what my babbling is leading up to is, this is an amazing work and I really, really hope you update more regularly than I do because I eagerly await the rest! Very, very eagerly. Very. Hint, hint; nudge, nudge and all that...

Author's Response: AH-HA! It was you, you who wrote "MarySue in Fangorn"! I loved that spoof, totally rocked. Without any arrogance I can safely garuntee that you will love what I have in store. Totally flattered, complete psyched to write, ta.

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/04/06 - 10:15 pm Title: The Banks of River Running

I love your characters. At first it seemed you might have chosen a few too many, at least for not breaking up the introductions with something, but after reading all of them, I changed my mind most decidedly. They're absolutely brilliant and I already adore all of them. I can't wait to see what you have them do.

Reviewer: Tathrin Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/04/06 - 09:58 pm Title: Darkness and Starlight

Great beginning. Such crazy, rambling writing. No idea what's going on, but Gwar at least sounds (crazy) fun.

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/03/06 - 04:47 pm Title: Darkness and Starlight

I like it! When are you going to post the rest? I'll read it!

Author's Response: So glad you like it. Haven't the faintest clue of how often I'll update. I'm about to graduate from college and maybe enter a trade school or become a tutor and I have term papers and class and job interviews. . .so as much as I would enjoy working on this all day, I can't. What I can tell you is that yes, I have this story fairly well charted out, and I have no intension of discontinuing. So, updates will be had maybe every two to four weeks (?). And it's good to know the people are enjoying this--my story is a bit brainy, there's no helping it, but it's all in good fun. Do keep commenting, do enjoy. Ta.

Reviewer: luv_2_laugh Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/01/06 - 04:58 pm Title: Night Fight

This is a great story! I could not even be this creative, ever...

Author's Response: I'm sure you could. And don't mistake that for sarcasm, I'm serious; it only takes about three years of fermentation, rigorous studies in philosophy, and reading lots of fanfiction (which I'm sure you've already mastered). Hell, if this dyslexic can do it, really, it's anybody's game.

Author's Response: I forbid myself to respond near midnight ever again. Ever. I think I meant to convey that such a piece as this is either the work of a creative person, or someone who's stark raving mad. As I'm a dyslexic with and education whereby I could "chose to spend my time more wisely," I think I fall under the "mad" category. You, however, are sane because a) you didn't write this b) you probably spend your brainpower on much more reasonable things. There. I think I finally got it out right.

Reviewer: SilverEagle Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/12/05 - 05:48 pm Title: The Red Bird

Sorry, I didn't express myself well. I didn't mean that it WAS a Mary Sue, just that it could turn into one. Sorry for any offence. This really is a promising story and I was pleasantly suprised to find an update.

Reviewer: SilverEagle Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/05 - 08:30 am Title: Screams in the Dark

I don't normally read this sort of thing but I'll admit I'm intrigued. But also a bit confused. Am I right that 4 girls have died, and have gone to middle earth, all have powers and met an elf, presumably Legolas. It is quite mary sueish.

Author's Response: Perhaps your definition of "Mary Sue" only requires a female from Earth to end up in Middle Earth. If this is all, then so be it. I won't contest it. I merely said this wasn't "entirely" a Mary Sue. Nor "entirely" an AU or whatnot. For my purposes, some conventions must be followed in order to undermine others. My definition of "Mary Sue" entails all the above, but is amended by the mentality an author places onto the Mary Sue. A Mary Sue, of Middle Earth or Earth, is typically a vessel for a young female author to vicariously live out her own fantasy of participating in the Quest or what-have-you. I feel it is mostly because there are few females in adventure quests for them to identify with (or there are hot guys they want to have sex with *growls*). I am also a great believer in subtlety. Not everything is apparent now, but I do have a plan *winks.* All will reveal itself in time.

You must login (register) to review.