You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/09/06 - 02:43 pm Title: Lindir and Erestor

Yes, I prefer bolded to underlined titles... though now they attract perhaps more attention than necessary... hm.

I usually put titles in just italics... but I guess that might confuse them with the thought and in-elvish sections. Maybe not, though... For your information, I had no problem discerning between thought and in-elvish. Ulp, I'm babbling and possibly making you stress. Sorry.

Author's Response: Hey, ALL feedback is appreciated. Even though I'm really bad about comma splices I try to keep things as grammatically sound as possible. It's a pet peeve of mine when I read a story and get hung up on a misspelling or a typo and have to reread something to understand it. I'm glad the italics aren't confusing. I had to denote thoughts somehow. Foriegn words are usually in italics in literature, too. Without underlining (which as you said is particular to links) bold text was the only way to go for book and movie titles. Glad you are enjoying the story. I'm almost becoming obsessed with it, myself.

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/09/06 - 02:36 pm Title: A Visitor, Lessons, Elrond’s Table, and Bilbo’s Secret

Hee - love the 'see author's note above' XD Made me giggle... and just so you know, it didn't distract me from enjoying the story.

Author's Response: Glad to hear it. Much of what I write is fairly accurate, but I'd rather not have lawyers tracking me down, you know?

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/09/06 - 02:30 pm Title: Battlefield Medicine

You just get better and better... I almost cried. 'Modern' medicine meets elvish medicine... and so beautifully handled. Beautiful work.

Author's Response: Thank you! A lot of the herblore and especially the dandelions came directly from a conversation I had with my mother. You would not believe how much feedback I'm getting and how much it helps!

Reviewer: Bein_Fuin Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 17/09/06 - 01:09 pm Title: Lindir and Erestor

I have to agree with Susan on the best chapter bit! This truly is an amazing story and very well written. Also, I had a question, that I was wondering you could answer. How did you get that beautiful picture on the summary? Its just I am writing a story soon and would like to do the same with a different picture. Thanks xx

Author's Response: When you log on, in the navigate box go to "Account Info" On the User Account page click the link to "Manage Images" You can upload an image from your computer by clicking on "Upload New Image" It has to be 200 pixels by 200 pixels or less (I think). After the image is successfully uploaded the html code for your image will be provided by the site. Just cut and paste that code into your story (or summary) anywhere. Good Luck and thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/09/06 - 06:13 am Title: Lindir and Erestor

Most awesome chapter so far in my opinion. Your insight into elves and Rivendell is incredible and you manage to convey it so smoothly, yet not too seriously/tediously; I hung on every word and I loved the paragraphs of detail, even though I'm not usually a fan of sentences devoted to setting, etc. ...wow.

I love the flippancy in her thoughts. Made me giggle a few times re references to Elrond, e.g. 'asap', 'just like a doctor...' sections.

One quibble re the formatting: when you underline words, I always wonder if it's a link and sometimes move my mouse to hover over it. Have you considered presenting those titles in a different format?

Loved the chapter; am looking forward excitedly to more!

Author's Response: Great! Thanks! I love the feedback and I don't mind criticism. I took your advice about the underlining and changed it to bold text. Does that work better?

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/09/06 - 11:44 am Title: Meeting Bilbo Baggins

YAY! I was right! *nodsnods* XDXDXD You know, every time Glorfindel gets mentioned, I get very warm fuzzy fangirl feelings; guess you're spot on with hitting my taste in his character in fanfic. (^_~)

Another happy chapter for the Mary-Sue. Glad to read that her sunburn is fading away.

As always, I loved it and am very much looking forward to the next chapter. Thanks for a lovely read (and being prompt in your response to my comments; I appreciate it)!

Author's Response: Got a soft spot for Glorfindel, do you? I felt a little stilted writing that chapter, but today I reread it and I'm pretty happy with it. We've got a typhoon blowing here, so I'm not sure if I'll be able to write again tonight. I've got some ideas about my heroine's meeting with Lindir and I'll probably take some time to describe the Last Homely House in the next chapter as well. Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/09/06 - 03:10 pm Title: Cats have Elves?

Even if she looks dreadful, in this chapter, she hasn't been made fun of, is in a comfortable place, and nothing awful has happened to her. All the worst is over and things are now looking up for her, I hope? Probably not, which is good for the story's brilliance, but I'm happy for her brief respite from her torment.

I want an elf to eat one of those berries.

Author's Response: Things are definitely looking up for her. I believe things will stay good, at least until she leaves Rivendell . . . but that's for later. Thanks for your support, when I get stumped, the reviews really get me going again.

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/09/06 - 03:04 pm Title: The actual most embarrassing moment of my life

KyaHAha! Oh my, your poor Mary-Sue... and poor Elrond. The 'It itched terribly' line cracked me up.

Good to see an elf being genuinely friendly and kind towards her (or at least not laughing at her in her presence).

Again, wonderful work.

Author's Response: In the elves' defense, she is a filthy stray human. A stranger in bad times and she has secrets. Besides, when you find out what the berries are, you'll know why the elves were laughing.

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/09/06 - 03:01 pm Title: Rivendell at Last!

Lindir's 'idiot child' speech was where I started laughing for these updates. XD

Sexy berries? Is that it?

Loved it.

Author's Response: You're getting very warm. Not to worry, Bilbo will finally tell her what they are in Chapter 10.

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/09/06 - 02:55 am Title: Personal Hygiene in Middle Earth

By the way, I'm very much looking forward to finding out what's with those berries. *quivers with the suspense* I can't even think of a clue! (>_

Author's Response: I hope I'm not building it up too much, but I've figured out what the berries are. You'll just have to wait another couple of chapters to find out.

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/06 - 09:47 am Title: My most embarrassing moment . . . I hope

Mwah! Mwah! Mwah! *kisses the fic* This fic is a real treasure; I absolutely love it! (*_*) Flippant, wonderfully written, full of gorgeously portrayed elves, and so hilarious! Thank you for a wonderful read! *favourites*

Author's Response: Hey! A new reader! Thanks for the support. I have to stop myself every now and then because my character gets too serious and starts talking like the elves, you know, too proper. I step back and re-write it until she comes back to earth.

Reviewer: Bein_Fuin Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12/09/06 - 06:44 am Title: The Intro

wow. what a kwl story! really well written! keep it up! xx

Author's Response: Thanks! It should start getting really interesting now. Is anyone wondering what's with those berries? I sure am!

You must login (register) to review.