You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Redone Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/07 - 08:37 pm Title: Many Apologies

A-ha! I ranted too early. Sorry about that. :) And, you know, it is a glorious feeling to know that many chapters are still ahead! It is really a very enjoyable story.

Author's Response: Maybe not, but try to keep an open mind, all Mary Sues aren't hell-spawn, all romance isn't crappy or X-rated, and hopefully you'll continue to enjoy it.

Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Redone Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/07 - 07:38 pm Title: The tale is told

As you see, I found the story on this site! And have read all day. :) I still love it - loved it, until this chapter, that is. Legomance, what a disappointment! Besides, one chapter you had Legolas rude to her, and the next chapter you had him infatuated - no development of feelings, no explanation, no nothing. It's cheating! :) Not very Elvish at all, besides. i loved the angry Legs part, it was good, it was original, it was brill. And then, blam, next chapter you have the rote romance thingy.

Oh, and Grelvish - that is Grey Company "elvish" - ugh! Not Elvish at all. You might want to check real Tolkien elvish from sites like Ardalambion http://www.uib.no/People/hnohf/, there are others too, with tons of good, useable phrases. Other than that, in scenes where no "elvish" is spoken and no legomance, I still think this story is brill.

Author's Response: Great! Welcome! Unfortunately, if you continue reading you may have more disappointments. There's no getting around it, Elaura is a "Mary Sue" and the story is a "Legomance" it may even fall under the category of "song fic". Hence the title. In Elaura and Legolas' defense, however [I believe] love at first sight is very Elvish. Elves tend to think with their hearts and there is precedence in Tolkien's works for Elves knowing one another's hearts long before they figure out how to live together. In my defense, the story writes itself, I'm just the transcriptionist.

As far as the Elvish goes, I'm not an expert on any language, certainly not one as complicated as Sindarin [or Quenya]. I give it the old college try and with some helpful feedback I did manage to go in a better direction later on. Truth be told, Westron isn't English, but it would be a pretty weird story if we had to wait for someone to teach it to her.

I appreciate the feedback, positive or not, but don't get your hopes up if you were looking for a no-romance, grammatically-accurate fic. Sorry.

Reviewer: ElflingImp Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/07 - 11:06 pm Title: The road goes ever on

This is getting interesting!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: ElflingImp Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/07 - 10:45 pm Title: The Intro

That was too funny!

Author's Response: Welcome! It's always great to have a new reader/reviewer! Hope you continue to enjoy it.

Reviewer: Apteryx Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/01/07 - 06:31 am Title: Gandalf's Return

Hi Elaura,
I've just finished reading book one of your story, and had to register to review! Yours is the best story of its type I have read, meaning no disrespect, but it's not often an author can pull off inserting their persona into an existing story with such èlan. I enjoyed it immensely.
Cheers,
Apteryx.

Author's Response: Thank you! I love to hear from new readers. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

Thank you again for the review.

Author's Response: Oh, Welcome to the land of registered users!

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/11/06 - 07:20 pm Title: The Intro

wow i love this story
being new to fanfiction i don't really know much about it but from what ive read so far yours is really good

Author's Response: Thank you! Don't worry about what you know, it doesn't matter what other people think. If you like it and enjoy it, please keep reading. If you don't, I hope you find something you like better.

Thank you for taking the time to review. Enjoy!

Reviewer: BookLuva7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/11/06 - 03:48 am Title: The Intro

Fantastic!! I loved it!! :D

Author's Response: WOW!! A NEW READER! This is exciting. Thank you for taking the time to give me some feedback. I've started chapter one of book three. Book two is very short, relatively, but I expect book three to be a lot like Book one. Thanks again! Glad you like it!

Author's Response: Test. I'm checking to see if I can respond to reviews in my other stories, because I can't respond to them in Book Three for some reason.

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/10/06 - 08:14 pm Title: Gandalf's Return

I loved the meeting with the Entwife and also the dream Elaura had when she was visited by her mother. I also liked the way that she spoke to Galdalf when he remembered little and was confused. This was a great chapter I look forward to reading the next...

Author's Response: That was definitely something I know about. My dad had several seizures and brain surgeries, he always woke up from them confused. It was easy to write.

My mom and I have always wondered what happened to the Entwives, I think Tolkien had intended to write about them, but never got around to it.

My mom has always been a big part of my life and I figured Elaura's mom would be too . . . here's a little secret, my mother really had that dress! When she read the chapter she asked me why Elaura's mother couldn't have been in flowing robes . . . LOL!

I'm looking forward to getting the next book up, it shouldn't be long, but the army is getting in the way again.

Thanks for the review!!

Reviewer: Sweetie Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/10/06 - 03:18 am Title: Gandalf's Return

Wow!!!! I have been reading from the beginning, how can you write so well? it almost makes me want to give up! But I'm not that type of person. It's a truly cool story, keep writing PLEASE.


~*Sweetie*~

Author's Response: A NEW REVIEWER!!!

NEVER NEVER NEVER give up! Writing is just taking reading one step farther. If reading can take you into another world, when you write you get to create another world. Finishing this book is up there in the top ten best feelings I've ever had, well actually the top five. Stay with me and keep reading.

I love the feedback and I appreciate you.

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/10/06 - 01:21 am Title: Gandalf's Return

I always felt sad that the entwives had left, adnt didn;t come back. Like there was no more entlings, so the race was fading, like the elves. I like the idea that the ents were supposed to follow but forgot, and that the entwives didn't forget.
I glad shes going with Gandulf, but what wass with his fogeting? Does he fully recover?
Pretty please up-date soon? Cookies and pie?

Author's Response: Just keep in mind that an age to the Ents isn't quite the same as it is to us. They will always have time to get back together.

Gandalf got his brain a little scrambled when he died; he's wiser now and a bit more childlike. He's been renewed by the Valar. He'll have plenty of time with Elaura to bring him back, but he'll always have one foot on the other side. Nobody can see the Valar and not be changed.

I'll hold you to that cookies and pie! I love pie!

Thanks for staying with me, Wyn.

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/10/06 - 01:07 am Title: Farewell Again

I like the way you didn't make Elaura's & Legolas's relationship lustful; too many authors reck a decent story that way.

Author's Response: I'm glad you feel that way. That's the best thing about writing, you get to make things the way you think they ought to be.

Thank you for reviewing. I hope you like the next book. Your reiviews have really kept me going. I never thought I could ever write a book and now I'm really looking forward to the next one.

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/10/06 - 12:50 am Title: Drinking, Sparring, and Crying; not necessarily in that order

Yeah! I'm so happy you up-dated! It's going great! I can't wait to see what happens in Rohan.

Author's Response: Great! I can't wait either! Thankd for the feedback!

Reviewer: Brassen Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/10/06 - 12:39 am Title: Gandalf's Return

I love how you included the Ents in this chapter. It was great!

Author's Response: My mom has been wondering what happened to the Entwives ever since she read The Lord of the Rings the first time. She's given me a lot of ideas throughout this book and I've been thinking about that one since the beginning. I'm glad you liked it, I get a strong feeling Elaura will meet more Ents and Entwives.

Thank you for reviewing, I hope you like the next book as much.

Reviewer: Fawlen Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/10/06 - 05:17 pm Title: Farewell Again

That was a very sad chapter it must have been difficult to write and i really liked all the songs in this and the previous chapters i eagerly await Gandalfs arrival thanks Fawlen.

Author's Response: It was, but for some reason the next one was even harder. It's finally finished, though. Hope you like it. I'm starting on the next one now.

Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/10/06 - 07:06 am Title: Drinking, Sparring, and Crying; not necessarily in that order

Haha! i find it funny to imagine the fellowship passed out due to too much alcohol!!! - Especially Legolas, - he is always in control and never lets that guard down, its fun to read that he has, I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: It seemed to me that they were all due for a really good time. I wonder if Legolas will have a hangover? Thanks for the review, keep reading!

Reviewer: Brassen Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/10/06 - 09:08 pm Title: A Wager with Arminas

I really missed reading this story while the site was down. I really enjoyed the new chapters! Keep it up.

Author's Response: I'll bet I missed my reviewers at least as much! Thanks for the feedback. It was hard writing without it.

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/10/06 - 12:47 am Title: A Wager with Arminas

Really, truely, verily I say unto you, you should consider publishing your works, not only are you my favorite author, but your story is the most well-writein fanfiction I've ever read!

Author's Response: Thank you!!! Maybe when I'm done with this one, I'll try an original work. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/10/06 - 12:35 am Title: An Even Dozen

Aww, i love the the way you describe her eyes as haveing the light of the Two trees in them. Really, have you ever considered writeing, as a carrar not just a hobby? I've been reading since I was four and I think you're quite good!

Author's Response: I am considering it. Being in the army is beginning to take its toll on my old body. Thatks for the feedback, I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/06 - 11:56 am Title: Many Happy Days and Nights

Gimli really is a genius, I like the way that he is making Elauras life as easy as he possiby can with his clever gadgets! I am also plased that she is getting better! I look forward to reading more...

Author's Response: Don't you just LOVE him! I'm not handicapped myself, but I know a few soldiers who are and like they tell me, once something happens, there's nothing you can do except accept it and move on. It's frustrating, but there's no point in giving up. After all, with modern prasthetics (or Gimli's genius) sometimes you can even do things better than you could before.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Fawlen Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/06 - 06:55 am Title: Many Happy Days and Nights

I can't wait for her to start her journey to Mirkwood i know there will be some danger and adventure of sorts but i will miss Rivendell also.Thanks Fawlen

Author's Response: It's coming, I'm already writing it, well I'm writing it in my head. I've got the next three chapters going on in my head at the same time, It's getting confusing.

Thanks for the review!

You must login (register) to review.