You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/06 - 02:21 am Title: Many Happy Days and Nights

When does the Fellowship leave?
Do they have rubber in Middle Earth? I feel like Elaura & Legolas's relationship moved too fast, like they skipped the friendship part.
Please Keep updating!

Author's Response: They leave very soon. I'm having a little trouble with the next two chapters, I think it's because I'm not feeling well and so I'm not getting a warm fuzzy about posting them.

Elaura's slippers came with her and their soles are the only rubber in ME that I know of. However, the only reason they might not have it is because rubber trees are a tropical plant. Otherwise it would be possible.

Yes, Legolas and Elaura are moving fast, but there's a few reasons for it. One is that they have both been waiting their entire lives for love. Elaura has been in love with Tolkien's Legolas since she was a little girl, too. Legolas has a lot of love inside him as well. He is also a wood elf of a different generation so to speak. Although Legolas' age is never really made clear by Tolkien, it's not likely that he is much over 500 years old. He is relatively young and he is impetuous, Tolkien made that part of Legolas' nature pretty clear. In comparison, Arwen is 2710 years old by the time she meets Aragorn and she had been practically raised by Galadriel, one of the oldest of the Eldar left in Middle Earth. Either way, the usual age for marriage among the Eldar is 100, according to Tolkien in his essay "Laws and Customs of the Eldar," published in the book Morgoth's Ring, History of Middle-Earth.

So, for whatever reasons, Legolas and Elaura are WAY overdue for true love and they are running with it. Not to worry though, Elaura will stick with the one-year "official" engagement, even though by the time they leave Rivendell union will just be a formality.

Thanks for the feedback! Stick with me, I'll probably post two chapters today.

Reviewer: Brassen Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/06 - 11:26 pm Title: Many Happy Days and Nights

Loved this chapter! I like how you portray Gimli to be so creative in this story. He comes up with some very interesting devices! :-)

Author's Response: Gimli IS a genius. There isn't anything he couldn't make with wood and metal, I'm sure of it!

Thanks for the review, keep reading!

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/06 - 05:08 pm Title: The first day of the rest of my life

"If you cook, they will come." !
I loved that! Thank you for writing!

Author's Response: It's so true, too. Especially about males. All you need is good food and good beer and you always have a party!

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/06 - 04:59 pm Title: Home

Awww, *sniff*
True love...*sniff* just like in the stories...

I love you, Elaura!
...As in a sisterly way.
I hope that you're able to continue to update as quickly as you have. Thank you!

Author's Response: I'm working on it. r/l gets in the way unfortunately, they seem to think I've still got to do the soldier thing to get paid!

Thanks for all the reviews and feedback it's really helpful!

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/06 - 03:35 pm Title: The first day of the rest of my life

I liked the little song she sang, my father used to sing little songs like that to my sisters and myself when we were young, they always made us giggle, and we always memorised them! - I loved this chapter, and I really do think that Bilbo is a sweetie!

Author's Response: All these songs came from my own childhood. My mom used to sing me to sleep a lot. I'm glad they are bringing back fond memories for you.

Thanks for sticking with me! It's almost time for everyone to leave Rivendell. Things should be picking up soon.

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/06 - 03:21 pm Title: Home

Oh bless, that outburst sounded like that was what she needed, such a sweet chapter, I also liked the way that she was given the ring by Gloin, a great honor! I look forward to reading the next chapter...

Author's Response: I thought she needed it. Her whole outlook on life will change now. I love the dwarves.

Thanks for taking the time out to write reviews, they are very helpful!

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/06 - 03:07 pm Title: Explanations and Frustrations

I am sorry, but the teddybears picnic song had me laughing again, especially when elflings appeared and wanted her to sing it again!

Also Legolas getting all shy was so sweet! Really cute! I look forward to reading the next chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/06 - 02:51 pm Title: A Dangerous Dwarf Meets Her Match

Tehee! this was a really fun chapter, I giggled at the thought of Gimli knocking out the female dwarf over and over! Hehehe! I also liked the ending to this chapter, "Now, abouth that explanation!" - it was great!

Author's Response: No less than the wench deserved! I think it was probably cathcrtic for Gimli as well. Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Brassen Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/10/06 - 06:34 pm Title: The first day of the rest of my life

Yay! You added more today! I didn't want to have to wait too long to read more . . . great chapter!

Author's Response: I'm nearly finished with the next chapter. It's finally time to leave Rivendell.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Brassen Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/10/06 - 09:25 am Title: Home

Did you have to end the chapter? LOL. It was so good!

Author's Response: Now that is something every writer dreams of hearing! Don't worry, I'm already writing the next one and it picks up right where I left off. Originally I hadn't planned to end it there, but once I wrote the words, I didn't have any choice.

Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/10/06 - 02:14 am Title: Explanations and Frustrations

Mwahaha! You cheated and used Wikipedia to explain yourself to Erestor! XDXDXD *laughs* I didnt know Elaurad taken the internet to Middle-earth with you. ^_____^

I guess scholarly elves, considering how much they like creating languages and all, would know all the naughty words in the book. *has a mental image of Erestor secretly writing a book of foreign curses in his desk* 'Tis the forbidden book that toy loving elflings and modest elf-princes absolutely must not find! XD And OMG! ELAURA INFECTED MIDDLE-EARTH LITERATURE WITH THE F-WORD! *is high on caffeine*

œI have a doll I sleep with; its a squirrel!
*wonders what is the elvish equivalent of a Barbie doll* This reminds me of a story that I wrote called The Little Prince in which toddler Legolas carries around a toy Mirkwood spider. *not meant as a story-plug “ only meant to amuse*

The sexual innuendo between Legolas, Elaura, Boromir, and Aragorn was very squeeable -- I enjoyed it. Legolas certainly gets his modesty teased in this chapter. Its lovely to see that Elauras settled down, her self-confidence is restored (to the point of sometimes bossiness XD), and shes relaxed around the elves. Even so, I do hope that shell soon be given a reminder of her youthful ignorance of some matters soon so that I can squee over the impressive wisdom of older smexy male elves. Hehe.

Re the innuendo and that notable step past the kissing and joking suggestive line, I recall you mentioning in your author notes for chapter one that you have no intention of writing in any sex. Is this more of a grey area now?

*laughs* Re the smoking, even if Legolas hates the smoke, I dont think hed dare say: œno, your smoking grosses me out “ quit it! and risking losing Elaura. XD Even if her smoking doesnt gross out Legolas, dya think Thranduil and the court of Northern Mirkwood would approve of a future probable landed princess smoking up Thranduils throneroom? *is curious* Maybe theyll build her a special smoking room. Sorry, Im totally brain broken at the moment. ^^;

Still loving this story and looking very much forward to more!

In response to your questions, I had a very relaxing weekend, thank you. Uni started back this week, but I think Im very much œin a daze and œout of it. @_____@ And of course I dont mind that you were inspired by some of my suggestions! Not at all! In fact, Im extremely chuffed and delighted that you took them. *feels loved and appreciated* Hehe!

Hope you're having a great week!

Author's Response: I thought about leaving out the references and taking credit myself, but my conscience won out.

Check out this page: What Tolkien Officially Said About Elf Sex By Tyellas (ansereg.com)

That site has a great quote you brought to mind when you mentioned Erestor's secret book:

"A scholar of elvish languages, Helge Fauskanger (web site Ardalambion,) once said that 'Somewhere there may be a sealed envelope containing a piece of paper with the Elvish designations of the genitals, furtively set down by Tolkien behind locked doors.' Somebody has found the envelope."

I think Elaura will have a rude awakening when the men and dwarves depart. She'll only have the hobbits, Gimli and Boromir anywhere close to her age/maturity level.

No, the sex restriction stays. There may actually be references to sex, but I'll probably just stick to the old fade-to-black, cut to the next scene where they are basking in the afterglow.

Glad you see Legolas as not wanting to rock the boat too early in the relationship. It's nice to think he might be just as worried about losing Elaura as she is about losing him.

Glad you are enjoying the story, glad you had a good weekend, glad you feel loved and appreciated!

My week is a little too busy for my tastes, but it's almost over.

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/06 - 08:30 pm Title: Explanations and Frustrations

I love how you looked stuff up in Wikipedia.
Shouldn't Elaura asked for an eleth? I think that asking Legolas to help her put her bra on was a bit un-canon-ish, but thats my opion. Keep updateing! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I would NEVER discourage contructive criticism, but I'm not sure I understand your suggestion. Do you mean that Elaura was out of character for asking? She was terribly excited about being free of the bandages, I suppose she just didn't want to wait to find a female. Or do you think Legolas should have flatly refused? I kind of thought his chivalrous side would win over his modesty. Finally, what do you mean by cannon? I'm not sure if this story would qualify either as book cannon or movie cannon. What do you think?

Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it; it's VERY helpful.

Reviewer: Brassen Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/06 - 06:26 pm Title: Explanations and Frustrations

You're a very clever writer . . . this story is amazing. I can't wait until you write the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! Stay with me, I have to take a short break (no more than a day or so). Army stuff, you know. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Fawlen Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/06 - 07:59 am Title: A Dangerous Dwarf Meets Her Match

oh it was a female Dwarf i never guessed that.liked the description Gimli gave her about having to knockout the female every few yards hilarious.But who is this stranger in the dark lurking around Rivendell?thanks for the two chapters i was in my element! Fawlen

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. She deserved a lot more.

That's a good question. As soon as I find out who that lurker is, I'll let you know.

Thanks for the review, keep reading!

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/06 - 03:49 am Title: A Dangerous Dwarf Meets Her Match

œLegolas, youve been in my sickroom for two days. Its got a bed in it, hence a bedroom.
This being the elf who goes and kisses a woman on their first outing. *SO CUTE* XD

Nooo! Not another cliff-hanger! Elaura, you're SO cruel! But I love you for it! Hehe! I expect something WONDERFUL in chapter 25 as compensation -- *is kidding, of course*

*hugs* Another wonderful chapter!

By the way, does Legolas know Elaura smokes yet?

Author's Response: I hope you don't mind, I used 'This being the elf who goes and kisses a woman on their first outing.' in the next chapter as well as a short conversation about Elaura's smoking habit.

I really appreciate the feedback. You've given me a lot of great ideas! Don't worry, Erestor gets his explanation.

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/06 - 03:43 am Title: Elementary, meldanya Carnesr [my dear Watson]

Elaura's reaction... I feel weird calling her Elaura when you, the author, is Elaura. Anyway -- ahem -- Elaura's reaction to the ante... anet... feel good stuff cracked me up. XD

I notice that you've increased the amount of speech as opposed to non-speech. I applaud the fact that I'm not confused by who's speaking... hope you don't forego too much more descriptive detail, though. I enjoy snippets of detail and I think you do it well -- how the characters are standing, sitting, how the light plays, what's the temperature... little things.

Author's Response: You should hear me and my mom talk about it. My real name is Laura. It gets a little confusing!

Thank you so much for your feedback. I tried to include more detail in the next chapter, but it has made it much longer. I hope you don't mind. ;-)

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/06 - 03:36 am Title: The game's afoot; or rather, a hand

Ah, the mystery builds! I look forward to the next chapter! ^_^

Author's Response: Hey! I missed you! Glad you're back. Did you enjoy your weekend?

Thankd for the review!

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/10/06 - 09:54 pm Title: A Dangerous Dwarf Meets Her Match

What do you know? Female dwarfs have breads! It's inplid in the movie, but this is way funner! Shave her/his head, Ha!
I'd just love to see how she explains neorodic! Loving how it's coming, please keep updateing!

Author's Response: Hey, if the worst punishment for an elf is imprisonment, the worst punishment for a dwarf has got to be losing his or her beard.

She can't get out of the explanations now! Erestor has her cornered.

Thanks for the review! Kepp reading!

Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/10/06 - 09:16 pm Title: Elementary, meldanya Carnesr [my dear Watson]

Interesting fact there about most poisoners being female. The hand discrition sounded quite gross. I realize that a lot of this must stem from personal experences; on the risk of being blunt, are you missing a hand?
Keep updateing please!

Author's Response: Criminology is a hobby of mine.

Yes, a great deal of this does come from personal experience, but no, I'm not missing a hand. Incidentally, I've never had my nose broken, either, but I did have sinus surgery once and the bandages really WERE three feet long in each nostril.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'll update as soon as it comes to me.

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/10/06 - 06:38 am Title: Elementary, meldanya Carnesr [my dear Watson]

Poor Gimli, and poor Elaura for being the innocent in all this. I hope Gimli is going to be okay. Gimli is one of my favourite characters in this. (As well as the movie) his I like his personality! - He makes me laugh!
I also liked the way the pain relief affected Elaura, it kinda reminded me of the pethadine injection I once had! I look forward to reading more! ! This really is a great story!

Author's Response: Gimli will be ok. He HAS to be. Not just because he's so important to the story, but because I like him!

Pain medication is fun. It's nice that elven anesthetic doesn't make people sick the way the real stuff does.

Thanks for reading!

You must login (register) to review.