You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/07 - 06:58 am Title: The Last Words of the Little Folk

I was trying to work out who these men were, they sound a little like the '' Beaker People '' who came to England in about 2500 BC, and were the builders of the barrows which dot the landscape here in Wiltshire. I remember doing this in history. They became rulers over the original inhabitants, and they worked in bronze for weapons such as bows and spears. They came in from the continent, although there have been many such influxes throughout history. Which I am now going to read about. [ When you've got me digging into my history books, you've thoroughly hooked me d;-) ] At any rate, I love the fact that this story does blend Tolkien history with our own '' known '' history.
I am aching to know how Minas Tirith was destroyed, '' swallowed by darkness ''.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/07 - 06:24 am Title: The Dirty, Crumpled Plane Ticket

Well, Molly went up in my estimation, she's growing up a little. Poor Maglor, probably the character which touches me most in all of Tolkien's works, I am so glad you put him in this story. A lot of people focus so much on LOTR alone, and do not read any further and miss so much! It did just occur to me this must be a busy time for you, just before Christmas, but I hope you have time to continue with this because it's just a hell of a tale, each chapter pulls me on, and I am feeling the emotions of the characters, frustration, excitement, sorrow, anger, the lot. Brilliant. I have no stories on my favorites , so this is going to be the first one. I have not the faintest idea why it's not more read as it hands down beats any story that combines Middle-earth (in any way ) with the modern day, and comes at it from such an intriguiging and in-depth angle. How many of us would not be thrilled ( and stunned ) at finding the '' history '' of Middle-earth was real and be involved in looking for it? Wouldn't we be completely driven almost mental by not having the resources, by the fact that there are so few records, ( and some probably hidden by the archeaological community, b*stard's always brush under the carpet things which don't fit, it's a monolithic institution! ). There are records from 4,000 years ago + of course, but things take years to be properly researched and a lot of the time it is '' lucky '' finds like the Rosetta Stone, or Schleimann believing in the literal existance of Troy when the establishment thought it was myth, which brings things to light. I was considering the task which any-one would have in finding traces of people from that long ago, and it's daunting. Even if you had the backing of every archaeological institution in the world, and access to museums, the Bodleian Library in Oxford ( where it's said Tolkien discovered ancient writings ) and also access to places in the Middle east which are in turmoil and often travel is * inadvisable *. All these things have come across in this story, but , Eru knows how, you have blended * now * perfectly with the mysticism and beauty of Tolkien. Gandalf, Maglor, Elladan and Elrohir stand out as who they are, they are not awkwardly inserted, they do not sound like modern era people, even though they are not using '' antique '' speech modes. You get a sense of who they are, the age behind them, the history, which contrasts wonderfully with the young people like Alex and Katie. It's also incredibly realistic in the tensions that it evokes, especially among the Tilton family, and this is so true, and so authentic, it would happen. People go through self doubt, despair, depression, elation, anger, bitterness, uncertainty, and they would, yes. ( I'd still give that Adele a good ding around the ear, several times! Po-faced, pinch mouthed academic twonk. ) You have completely avoided the '' Indiana Jones '' trap where things go far too smoothly and launch almost at once into SFX drama. I don't know how you do it, but you definitely have a '' story-tellers '' talent, and as they say, a lot of people can write, but being a story-teller is on a different level entirely. Tolkien was one, and it's much rarer than being a good writer. One of my English teachers told me that you can teach any-one to '' technically '' write well, but you can never teach talent, it exists or not. I so hope you have the time to carry on with this! How this story got '' lost '' I will never know ( although I did think you only did the MS parodies until very recently .If ever there was a hidden gem it's this. Perhaps since it's not a romance, or set at the time of the LOTR, people bypass it, which is damned shameful imo. Well done! I realy look forward to more, when you have the time!

Author's Response: The MS parodies are much easier than this. Most of the time, when I'm writing a parody, it's not very hard. The reason this one gets updated so slowly is that I always am very nit-picky about my chapters.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/07 - 05:37 am Title: The Betrayal

Ooh, woman, I would tear the face of you for that! Even if it was a vagrant - which she knew damned well it was not. Pity Alex is a good mannered young man and not me, as Adele would have got such a smacking!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/07 - 05:32 am Title: The Elf's Tale

Dear, dear Maglor, I always tear up thinking of him.
The things we say when we've had a few, Alex, lol, whoo dear. And as for Tilton, ditch the missus and the selfish daughter, mate, some things are more important. ( lol, you can tell I'm so into stories when I start advising the character's d;-) )

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/07 - 05:11 am Title: Little Bones

I can almost imagine going to somewhere that smells '' clean ''. That's a lovely, subtle bit to put in. Few people would realize that. In developed countries we mostly don't notice pollution unless it's intense, but if I go say from this town to relations in North Wales, the difference is marked and to breath truly clean air...that would be remarkable. The mass grave gave me a chill, :(. Excellent, let me read on.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/07 - 09:00 pm Title: Madness

I just put this on ff.net, but I really don't like that site from the brief looks I have had, and why not put it here too?
So engrossing! I've been oo-ing and sqee-ing over ir ( and I'm far too old for that ) . I can't bear Middle-earth meets modern day, I can't stand it. It almost makes me want to stab some-one, I don't know why, but that is always the '' girl falls into Middle-earth '' plotline. Makes me twitch, so it's put me off. But this story - you know it reminds me of the Dark is Rising series, which are some of my favorite books even though they were aimed at older teenagers. No your writing does not sound '' teenage '' and nor does Susan Cooper's, it's just a very rare atmosphere and not many people can blend '' myth and magic '' with modern day. It's apparently quite hard to make such a thing work. And with Tolkien, I would imagine even harder. But this does, and going by what I have read on the other site, you've really spent some time considering this. I'm going to continue reading tomorrow, as I am thoroughly hooked. It's different, and intelligent and very well written, and it's one of those stories that grabbed me by the collar and dragged me in. It's a first, first story that has '' now '' and '' Middle-earth '' and that I like. The first story with young people, i.e. teens in it, that dosn't make me cringe. I like these characters a lot! It's wonderful. Oh Gods, shall I go mad and start typing !!!1111? I hope you post the '' re-done '' one on here, as ff.net gives me the creeps, but this version is great.

Author's Response: The Lord of the Rings fandom on ff.net is a complete mess. You literally have to dig through piles and piles of garbage to find something decent. Every single summary is a variation of "Mary Sue, lost elf princess of watchamacallit, goes to Middle-earth to fulfill her destiny. Will she find love along the way? 10th walker, LegolasOC". Did you know that I've memorized every word of dialogue from the movie version of the Council of Elrond, not because I've watched the movie so many times, but because EVERY single Suethor in the fandom copies it.rn rnDon't worry; I'll be updating on here before I update on ff.net. I just put my stories back on ff.net because I remember that a lot of people on that site liked them. Anyway, your reviews mean a lot to me, just so you know.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/07 - 08:26 pm Title: The Cowardly Fool

This is so good, why the hell is it not up in the top tens? I would LOVE to see a film of this, and it just sounds - so authentic. I love the way you have out so much thought into this, the geography, how old tales distort distances, where Mordor was located, and the huge difficulties of researching anthing which is as old as - well almost - the first city-culture levels. Marvellous, but it ought to be well up in the most read, sheesh! It's so well written and original and I'm just reading it and nodding; '' Yep, yep, aww! yep '' I should be in bed and am I? d;-)

Author's Response: Thank you! Man, your compliments are making me so happy I can't concentrate on anything else--and it's exam week at school. As soon as the semester ends, I'll get going on chapter 17. I will actually be making some adjustments to chapter 10 as well, but it's only a question of some characters being overhauled whom I could not fit into the story, no matter how hard I tried.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/07 - 08:03 pm Title: The Guitarist

Oh lord, is it Maglor? If it is I am going to cry more buckets than I currently am anyway, by just reading this. I know I need to read on, and I will after walking B in the morning. Gods, I am so impatient! That's so sad .

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/07 - 07:56 pm Title: What Was Nonsense is Real

I have to laugh, Katie is so like me, so petrified of basically everything in RL, and a coward, antisocial, hates small talk, cringes at the idea of ' hanging with friends ' ( unless they talk Tolkien ). If she's like that at her age, she'll be the same at mine. Terrific story, and believable too!

Author's Response: Actually, I look back at my story, and I realize that Katie is quite a bit like me as well. I never even realized it until I wrote a few chapters about her. I'm relatively confident she's not a Mary Sue, but I'll run her through the Mary-Sue litmus test, just to be sure. ;)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/07 - 06:33 pm Title: Legends and Lost Worlds

This is the story you said you were overhauling? I think it's terrific! I would love to do something like this, but I would be pants at it. It brings together two subjects which I am disturbingly enthusiastic about , '' Lost Civilizations '' a la Graham Hancock, and Middle-earth, as an actual historical fact. I love your parodies of MS's but this '' serious '' story is wonderfully written. Whether you amend it or not, I am going to read it. It's so much more intriguiging than '' Falls into Middle-earth ''. Wow, two subjects which I have enthralled me since I was small in one story! First it was Atlantis, which fascinated me, then of course after the Silm it became AtalantŰ and Beleriand somewhere under the north Atlantic. Just... ooooh!! ( jumpy up and down oooh ) I've only read these two chapters as yet and I'm engrossed!

Author's Response: Glad you like it. I'm not truly "overhauling" it; I'm mostly going to revise some dialogue, because a lot of it sounds like it comes from "The Final Sacrifice" (a cheesy movie advertised as "the worst thing to ever come out of Canada." Watch the MST3K version of it on youtube; I guarantee it'll give you a laugh).

Reviewer: Jenel Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/09/07 - 05:18 pm Title: The Dirty, Crumpled Plane Ticket

Excellent! Please write more soon!

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/08/07 - 02:43 am Title: The Betrayal

Oh, drama! I feel greatly for Maglor. It sounds as if you are planning to work in the Silmarils -- hmm . . .

Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/08/07 - 07:03 pm Title: The Betrayal

I LOVE THIS STORY!! NICE TURN OF EVENTS WITH A HIGH ELF ASKING FOR HELP!!! KEEP ON THIS EXCELLENT STORY!!

Author's Response: Glad your enjoying it.

Reviewer: Jenel Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/08/07 - 01:34 pm Title: Madness

Totally AWESOME! I have never before read a story like yours. You write with all the brilliance of Tolkien himself!
You would not have happened to have any intercourse with an old man named Rowley by chance?

Author's Response: Nope; don't know anybody by that name. Despite your exaggeration, I appreciate the compliment.

Author's Response: Unless, of course, you're mocking me.

Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/07/07 - 09:28 pm Title: The Elf's Tale

Excellent chapter! Wow! Maglor still in Arda! Please, write morE!

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/07/07 - 07:53 pm Title: The Elf's Tale

Yes! Resolution and absolution for Maglor.

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/05/07 - 10:24 pm Title: Comb, Knife, and Rope

You've sustained the dramatic tension of this story, while constantly introducing new elements. It really seems epic, Jules.

Author's Response: Thank you. To me, the middle seems like an interlude.

Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/04/07 - 05:33 pm Title: A Tearful Interlude

I love this story. You are an excellent fiction writter.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/07 - 02:28 pm Title: Peredhil

Nice developments! I like the seriousness of the quest that's drawing Gandalf out.

Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/03/07 - 09:44 pm Title: Long Story

Excellent story! Please continue to write! I love this series!!

You must login (register) to review.