You must login (register) to review.
Title: Madness Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
I just put this on ff.net, but I really don't like that site from the brief looks I have had, and why not put it here too?
So engrossing! I've been oo-ing and sqee-ing over ir ( and I'm far too old for that ) . I can't bear Middle-earth meets modern day, I can't stand it. It almost makes me want to stab some-one, I don't know why, but that is always the '' girl falls into Middle-earth '' plotline. Makes me twitch, so it's put me off. But this story - you know it reminds me of the Dark is Rising series, which are some of my favorite books even though they were aimed at older teenagers. No your writing does not sound '' teenage '' and nor does Susan Cooper's, it's just a very rare atmosphere and not many people can blend '' myth and magic '' with modern day. It's apparently quite hard to make such a thing work. And with Tolkien, I would imagine even harder. But this does, and going by what I have read on the other site, you've really spent some time considering this. I'm going to continue reading tomorrow, as I am thoroughly hooked. It's different, and intelligent and very well written, and it's one of those stories that grabbed me by the collar and dragged me in. It's a first, first story that has '' now '' and '' Middle-earth '' and that I like. The first story with young people, i.e. teens in it, that dosn't make me cringe. I like these characters a lot! It's wonderful. Oh Gods, shall I go mad and start typing !!!1111? I hope you post the '' re-done '' one on here, as ff.net gives me the creeps, but this version is great.

Author's Response: The Lord of the Rings fandom on ff.net is a complete mess. You literally have to dig through piles and piles of garbage to find something decent. Every single summary is a variation of "Mary Sue, lost elf princess of watchamacallit, goes to Middle-earth to fulfill her destiny. Will she find love along the way? 10th walker, LegolasOC". Did you know that I've memorized every word of dialogue from the movie version of the Council of Elrond, not because I've watched the movie so many times, but because EVERY single Suethor in the fandom copies it.rn rnDon't worry; I'll be updating on here before I update on ff.net. I just put my stories back on ff.net because I remember that a lot of people on that site liked them. Anyway, your reviews mean a lot to me, just so you know.
Date: 10/12/07 - 04:00 pm [Report This]
Title: The Cowardly Fool Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
This is so good, why the hell is it not up in the top tens? I would LOVE to see a film of this, and it just sounds - so authentic. I love the way you have out so much thought into this, the geography, how old tales distort distances, where Mordor was located, and the huge difficulties of researching anthing which is as old as - well almost - the first city-culture levels. Marvellous, but it ought to be well up in the most read, sheesh! It's so well written and original and I'm just reading it and nodding; '' Yep, yep, aww! yep '' I should be in bed and am I? d;-)

Author's Response: Thank you! Man, your compliments are making me so happy I can't concentrate on anything else--and it's exam week at school. As soon as the semester ends, I'll get going on chapter 17. I will actually be making some adjustments to chapter 10 as well, but it's only a question of some characters being overhauled whom I could not fit into the story, no matter how hard I tried.
Date: 10/12/07 - 03:26 pm [Report This]
Title: The Guitarist Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
Oh lord, is it Maglor? If it is I am going to cry more buckets than I currently am anyway, by just reading this. I know I need to read on, and I will after walking B in the morning. Gods, I am so impatient! That's so sad .
Date: 10/12/07 - 03:03 pm [Report This]
Title: What Was Nonsense is Real Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
I have to laugh, Katie is so like me, so petrified of basically everything in RL, and a coward, antisocial, hates small talk, cringes at the idea of ' hanging with friends ' ( unless they talk Tolkien ). If she's like that at her age, she'll be the same at mine. Terrific story, and believable too!

Author's Response: Actually, I look back at my story, and I realize that Katie is quite a bit like me as well. I never even realized it until I wrote a few chapters about her. I'm relatively confident she's not a Mary Sue, but I'll run her through the Mary-Sue litmus test, just to be sure. ;)
Date: 10/12/07 - 02:56 pm [Report This]
Title: Legends and Lost Worlds Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
This is the story you said you were overhauling? I think it's terrific! I would love to do something like this, but I would be pants at it. It brings together two subjects which I am disturbingly enthusiastic about , '' Lost Civilizations '' a la Graham Hancock, and Middle-earth, as an actual historical fact. I love your parodies of MS's but this '' serious '' story is wonderfully written. Whether you amend it or not, I am going to read it. It's so much more intriguiging than '' Falls into Middle-earth ''. Wow, two subjects which I have enthralled me since I was small in one story! First it was Atlantis, which fascinated me, then of course after the Silm it became Atalantė and Beleriand somewhere under the north Atlantic. Just... ooooh!! ( jumpy up and down oooh ) I've only read these two chapters as yet and I'm engrossed!

Author's Response: Glad you like it. I'm not truly "overhauling" it; I'm mostly going to revise some dialogue, because a lot of it sounds like it comes from "The Final Sacrifice" (a cheesy movie advertised as "the worst thing to ever come out of Canada." Watch the MST3K version of it on youtube; I guarantee it'll give you a laugh).
Date: 10/12/07 - 01:33 pm [Report This]
Title: The Dirty, Crumpled Plane Ticket Reviewer: Jenel Signed
Excellent! Please write more soon!
Date: 26/09/07 - 01:18 pm [Report This]
Title: The Betrayal Reviewer: Ria Signed
Oh, drama! I feel greatly for Maglor. It sounds as if you are planning to work in the Silmarils -- hmm . . .
Date: 17/08/07 - 10:43 pm [Report This]
Title: The Betrayal Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
I LOVE THIS STORY!! NICE TURN OF EVENTS WITH A HIGH ELF ASKING FOR HELP!!! KEEP ON THIS EXCELLENT STORY!!

Author's Response: Glad your enjoying it.
Date: 17/08/07 - 03:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Madness Reviewer: Jenel Signed
Totally AWESOME! I have never before read a story like yours. You write with all the brilliance of Tolkien himself!
You would not have happened to have any intercourse with an old man named Rowley by chance?

Author's Response: Nope; don't know anybody by that name. Despite your exaggeration, I appreciate the compliment.

Author's Response: Unless, of course, you're mocking me.
Date: 17/08/07 - 09:34 am [Report This]
Title: The Elf's Tale Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
Excellent chapter! Wow! Maglor still in Arda! Please, write morE!
Date: 27/07/07 - 05:28 pm [Report This]
Title: The Elf's Tale Reviewer: Ria Signed
Yes! Resolution and absolution for Maglor.
Date: 15/07/07 - 03:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Comb, Knife, and Rope Reviewer: Ria Signed
You've sustained the dramatic tension of this story, while constantly introducing new elements. It really seems epic, Jules.

Author's Response: Thank you. To me, the middle seems like an interlude.
Date: 18/05/07 - 06:24 pm [Report This]
Title: A Tearful Interlude Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
I love this story. You are an excellent fiction writter.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.
Date: 30/04/07 - 01:33 pm [Report This]
Title: Peredhil Reviewer: Ria Signed
Nice developments! I like the seriousness of the quest that's drawing Gandalf out.
Date: 07/04/07 - 10:28 am [Report This]
Title: Long Story Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
Excellent story! Please continue to write! I love this series!!
Date: 11/03/07 - 05:44 pm [Report This]
Title: The Guitarist Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
I love this story? When will you continue?
Date: 26/02/07 - 11:52 am [Report This]
Title: The Guitarist Reviewer: Wyn Telemnar Signed
Interesting, if you post, i will follow.
Date: 21/01/07 - 07:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Dreams and Messages Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
I LOVE THIS STORY!! Excellently done! Very good story line!! Please, continue
Date: 13/12/06 - 12:40 am [Report This]
Title: What Was Nonsense is Real Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
I LOVE THIS STORY!! THANK YOU FOR UPDATING. PLEASE, CONTINUE!!
Date: 09/12/06 - 01:56 pm [Report This]
Title: Legends and Lost Worlds Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
This story sounds very interesting!!! Keep up the good work!
Date: 05/12/06 - 07:51 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.