You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/11/10 - 02:41 am Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone

Hi Elaura :)

 

I don't get on this site very often anymore but I wanted to let yo know that when you get a chance to update I will quickly return to read and review! :)



Author's Response: Hey Luna! Thanks for reviewing again! As usual, real life is keeping me ffrom concentrating on writing, however, two barriers have recently come down for me. The first was that the email I was using here was hacked and I lost it. The effect of that was that I wasn't getting any more emails for reviews, which made it sort of out of sight, out of mind. The second was that I just recently was given a tutorial on how to put my books in E-reader format! YAY! Now I can re-read on my Kindle and get my head back to where the story left off. For some reason, sitting in front of my computer reading isn't as appealing as it was when I lived in the barracks. I look forward to seeing you again when the writing resumes. Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: DarkDreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/10/10 - 04:09 am Title: Eryn Lasgalen

It's been a long time since I've heard from you! I've read this series at least twice since your last update (I just love it so much). So you're married now? I'm so happy for you! :D I'm currently engaged but we decided to hold off on getting married and having kids until after college (which we are going to be attending together next year). :)
I don't go on myspace anymore but I'd love to hear from you! My email is Medea.Macabre@live.com, send me a message! :)

Author's Response: Yes indeedy! Thank you! SInce this review is fairly recent, should I assume you are still engaged? Congratulations! Going to college together should be a wonderful experience for you both. It's a lot of fun and a little hard work, but you'll get about as much out of just being in that atmosphere as you will from your classes.

I don't do myspace much either. I'll drop you a line to get your address in my contacts. Hope everything is going well for you. Thank you again for writing to me; if it hadn't been for my readers tenaciously reviewing to keep me connected, I might have given up on writing a long time ago. As it is, the characters are speaking to me again; I just have to quiet my mind and listen.

- Elaura

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/07/10 - 04:13 pm Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone

If i remember rightly, it was your birthday around this time, so if i'm correct Happy Birthday!! and if not just ignore me lol..

Author's Response: Oh, yes. I turned 40 this past July. Thank you again for the well-wishes. That's just another thing on my list of life-changing events from this past year. It's all working out, though. More life experiences makes it easier to continue Elaura's story. Incidentally, my husband and I adopted two chiweenie puppies last January. No, we didn't name them Laurelin and Telperion, but they are a boy and a girl and they are my babies . . . in a very weird old-lady way that I never expected . . . so I have a bit more to go on with Elaura's growing family, too.

I very much appreciate you keeping up with me, even if I'm undeserving. I hope to reward your perseverance very soon. Thank you again, abi.

- Elaura

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/05/10 - 07:10 am Title: Me, Myself and Legolas

Hey
no worries i'm glad you did get back to me quickly, the only thought i had was that i should have tried nominating you a while ago to get you to reply lol. i've summitted the nomination so you should be getting an email sometime soon about that, middle earth hugs to you x abi

Author's Response: Thanks again for the nomination. It's a very strange concept for me, as I'm not a competitive person. I still find myself checking it every now and then, which makes me feel a little naughty. ;)

I'll be posting an update to my bio here shortly, then the procrastination will be over. I'll have to actually start writing again . . . if my fingers can remember how.

Hope your new job is everything you'd hoped it would be!

- Elaura

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/05/10 - 06:09 am Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone

Just wondering if its ok with you if i nominate Typically atypical in mefawards... i think i need to give them your email so i just wanted to check? let me know soon!

Author's Response: Yes, certainly. Sorry I haven't been around to answer reviews; it is very high on my list of things to do, but this old farmhouse is taking up a lot of my time. Geez, I hope it doesn't look like I only popped back because of the award thing . . . you did say soon. Anyway, I'll be in touch again very soon and The cast of Typically Atypical will be with me. ;)

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/05/10 - 02:39 pm Title: Eryn Lasgalen

i just took a random look at your bio and am so pleased to see something new... i had almost given up hope that we would get more of your wonderful writing (i think i am unheathly addicted to your stories). i am very glad that the delay was from something so good in your life, congratulations on your marriage, Im gelir an le.
looking forward to updates immensely though i won't have quite as much time to read them as before as i have found a full time job finally after a year of looking!! good news all around

Im gelir ceni ad lin

xx abi

Author's Response: Thank you! I realize I was a bit optimistic in my estimations of when I would actually get back to writing, but I have finally caught the bug again. Now all I have to do is introduce my husband to Elaura the author. He knows I write, but since I haven't really done it since we got together, he doesn't have a clue how much time it takes. He's used to our gaming sessions when we can just save and exit any time. He is a writer as well, but unlike his poetry, my chapters will take longer than a few hours to find a stopping point. Eeek! Wish me luck!

Congratulations on your new job! Of course by now, it isn't so new, but I do hope it is still wonderful!

Take care and thanks again for taking your time to write to me!

- Elaura

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/05/10 - 03:51 am Title: The Difference between Fiend and Friend . . .

I just read your bio and you answered my question. Glad to know there will be more. Congratulations on your marriage. Love your writing and love Elaura. I am a first time fanfic author and read your story when I need a break from my own.

Author's Response: Thank you for your well-wishes as well as your review. It's such a pleasure to know I can provide someone else a diversion; I certainly know what it's like to need a break. Well, break time is over for me. I will be getting back to writing ASAP.

- Elaura

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/05/10 - 02:46 am Title: The Difference between Fiend and Friend . . .

This is one of my favorite fanfics and I'm only on Chpt. 50. I'm afraid there won't be anymore though. I see it's been a while since you have updated or received a review on this story. I encourage you to continue on. There are those of us who are still reading your work and enjoying it immensely. In the meantime, I'll have plenty more reading to keep me busy. Just don't leave it hanging without an ending. Please update.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

Yes, I understand your concern. I would be just as worried starting a story that hasn't been updated in over a year. I've had a lot of life-changing events in this past year, but things seem to be settling down a bit. I intend to finish this story before Christmas and begin the tale of Amlug by the first of the year. In the meantime, there are two other books in the series which will be posted as I go.

I hope you are still interested in reading the rest!

- Elaura

Reviewer: Cluck Girl Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/04/10 - 02:00 pm Title: Eryn Lasgalen

I lost count long, long ago of the many times reading this has made me late for school or kept me up till the early hours. It's really amazing stuff and I can't wait for more. Also, I hope your mom's better soon if she's not already.

Author's Response: YAY! I finally (re-)figured out how to make paragraphs in my responses! Phew. Sorry. Thank you so much for your review and your concern. Although my life has changed so much in the last year, I think I'm finally ready to settle down in a quiet place and listen for the characters to continue telling me their story. Look for a new chapter soon.

I do apologize for causing you to be late and lose sleep! ;)

- Elaura

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/01/10 - 09:27 pm Title: Eryn Lasgalen

hey elaura, just finished reading book 3 through again and thought i'd review to let you know i'm still enjoying it. hope you had a great holiday season! hope you'll update soon x

Author's Response: Thanks. Last Christmas was absolutely insane, with the wedding and all. Thanks for reading and reviewing! - Elaura

still testing format codes

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/12/09 - 10:22 pm Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone

Hey!! Its been a while... Any chance you'll give us a delicious Christmas present of another chapter?? :) Hope things are going well in your life... I miss Elaura's adventures!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry. Thanks for keeping an eye out for me. I'll be back soon. I can't believe It's been over a year since my last post. Where does the time go? I wonder if elves aske themselves that? /br testing format

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/08/09 - 11:20 pm Title: Eryn Lasgalen

 

Wow, so many updates in such a short amount of time! Yay! Thank you for deciding to post this chapter even without your beta. I didn't find any problems in it and really enjoyed the following: the joke about the use of the geese feathers, Taeniôn thinking about adopting (to me love is love, and I appreciate you giving that perspective with those four characters), background on what happened to Elaura's fam when she left them, the twins beating up Maglor and Legolas (HILARIOUS!!), Elaura using magic to give us the babie's perspectives, the babies being able to see/do magic, and some more background on the Castle place.

 

Woo! That's a lot of things to like I guess :)

 

As for you earlier comments on my last reviews, thanks. You're right about the Mary Sue thing and authors identifying with their characters. To be honest, I never really thought about it until I got into reading fanfiction and saw so many people demonizing it. But I am certainly learning the difference between a ‘bad' Mary Sue and a ‘good' one.  

 

Yes, please be sure to check in on my story :) It's funny... I only meant it to be a drabble to get my brain back into writing but I've become unexpectantly dedicated to it... I'm up to 28 chapters now and over 50,000 words. Funny thing is not only is it already longer than expected, but I have a while to go until my major plotline gets resolved so it will be pretty long if I can finish it!

 

As always, thank you for continuing to write. I am happy to see them reach Legolas' home and I am interested where you plan to leave off Book 3 and how the twins will develop. I am enjoying seeing the soft version of Elaura and the cute things with the babies, but I miss her warrior side!! Oh, and I cannot wait until the begetting day celebration!! My favorite moments are when everyone (Fellowship and Elaura's other friends) are together.



Author's Response: Oh and now imagine my utter embarrassment at just stopping there! I'm glad you enjoyed it all. It was a fun chapter to write and I truly had no intention of it being the last one for over a year! I'm a bad, bad person. I really am sorry. Life got in the way, but now I'm feeling a bit more on an even keel and I'm ready to continue the saga. Of course I intend to finish this book, then write the story of Amlug, but there are two more books in the series that will be posted, too. [/p] I had that same conversation about Mary-Sues with my niece. She was caught up in the backlash against the TWilight series and I had to explain to her that writers don't write with a movie deal in mind. They write what they feel like writing and whether or not it becomes a best-seller or a hit movie is not up to the author, nor a true reflection of his or her talent. It's a reflection of what the market wants at that time. Most artists are unappreciated by the masses until long after they've passed on. Art is made first and appreciated much later. If you happen to become a legend in your own time, you've won the lottery. Enjoy![/p] Thank you for taking the time to review.[/p] - Elaura[/p] P.S. I will keep your expectations in mind, I promise.

Reviewer: NocturneRomanza Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/08/09 - 02:21 pm Title: Eryn Lasgalen

Very good chapter, I just love the babies, the little bear suits are just adorable. I'm excited about them getting to the palace, and Elaura meeting her people. I hope all is well with you, and give my best wishes to your mum, I hope she recovers soon.

Cheers

Author's Response: Thank you. I know I'm a terrible author for leaving you hanging for over a year, but life has a way of telling you when you need to take a break, and I sorely needed one. I'm back on my feet now and intend to get this book wrapped up. If you're still interested, the next book should cover Amlug, but it isn't the last of the saga, by far. Thanks for the review! - Elaura

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/08/09 - 07:08 am Title: Rhosgobel

sorry about the delay in reviewing.
another great chapter, i love how the parents are bringing out all the baby stories, especially loved the one with legolas and oropher! the description of rhosgobel is amazing, i've never given much thought to the beornings before, i like how they are a big part of your story. the cubs with the pillows and legolas were adorable and amazingly written, i wish i had half your imagination.
i liked the quote from lion king, that bit always makes me laugh, i think lion king was the vey first film i saw in the cinema, ah the memories :)

thanks for what you said about my artwork, it means alot as i dont get many comments on them and am usually too shy to show them off in person. i'm glad you liked the dresses, i've got loads of them that aren't up on deviantart, i've always liked designing clothes.
say thanks and get well to your mum
thanks for writing as always to you!

Author's Response: Okie dokie. I'm going to answer each of these reviews one at a time, in order, so I don't miss anything. I'm sorry if I'm reading old news. I've had a few life-changing event which are not settled, but there is light at the end of the tunnel. Delay in reviewing? How about a year to reply? I'm so far past bad, I should have my own lily-pad in a flaming lake. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Beornings. They were a lot of fun to write about. I finally figured out why I wrote this story. There were always things I wanted to know more about in Middle Earth and I figured the only way to find out was to write it myself. Now I know. Soon, I will continue writing, post my other two stories I've been working on and if I have any readers left, they will know "the rest of the story" as well. I've always like that monkey! As for your artwork: I think you have great talent and you should not be afraid to show it. You probably have too much emotional attachment to do it the way I did. Of course my "post it and damn what anyone else thinks" attitude has changed since I became emotionally attached to my writing . . . but it worked well in the beginning. :D Well, from the looks of it, I'm going to be replying to reviews until my fingers fall off, so I better get to the next one. Thanks again! I am just about ready to finish up book three and write the story of Amlug. My characters have enjoyed their rest, but now it's time to get back to work. - Elaura

Reviewer: NocturneRomanza Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/08/09 - 07:18 am Title: Another Feast, Bear Style

I have actually been following your story for a long while, I read the whole thing and then waited impatiently for you to update. Checked every day, actually. I was rather disheartened when it took a while, and when you finally updated it made my day. And yet I didn't review, which I feel was wrong of me. If someone liked a story I wrote so much, I would dearly like to know. So I thought I should write this, and try and convey just how much I appreciate your writing. When I checked today and realized you had updated and started reading, I realized I had actually really missed you. I think you are a truly talented and amazing lady. And I certainly hope you will continue your good work for a long time to come.

ps. The new chapters are fantastic.

Author's Response: As I've said before, I love to hear from new reviewers! Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review. I know exactly how you feel when an author leaves you hanging in the middle of a story. My only excuse it that when I write and I'm either rushed or the story isn't flowing, it's even more disappointing when it just goes bad. Reviews do keep me going during the bad patches and I appreciate them very much.

I'm deeply touched that you missed Elaura. Thank you for being so complimentary. I won't stop writing, I promise. I think this has been the longest time between posting and I hope it remains the longest. I'm afriad I've already lost some of my readers and I'm truly sorry for that.

I've decided to go ahead and post 127 without my 'copy editor' reading it; please forgive any typos and let me know if you find them. Hope you enjoy it.

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/08/09 - 01:07 am Title: Another Feast, Bear Style

Legolas playing with teddy bears- how cute. Really, all the scenes involving the little bears was adorable. And interesting to look into what it must be like for a bear-child to start to change limbs into human limbs. That *would* be a difficult process. I also liked how Eluara said something to Thranduil about the clothing issue. Honestly, Legolas is 2,000 years old and doesn't need a mommy after all. lol

 Once again, I am saddened that I have reach the end (for now) of your story. Sorry to hear that life is rough; I hope you overcome whatever is going on. Regardless, it is in my humble opinion you have really created a work of art in this story. I thoroughly enjoy going through Elaura's journey and getting to know all aspects of Middle-Earth through her eyes. Also, thank you for showing me a different kind of Girl in Middle-Earth story- Since I started reading this story (starting in Feb?) its gotten me thinking about storywriting and you've helped inspire me to throw some creative thoughts out and begun creating my own story (also GIME but it features an OC from the Buffy the Vampire Slayer universe). But your character really got me thinking about how to avoid common Mary Sue pitfalls . So thank you! Your time and effort into this story is greatly appreciated. I hope I will see more updates soon. In the meantime, take care!



Author's Response: Yes, and we think human adolescence and pre-adolescence is hard! Yes, Legolas doesn't need a mommy, but he sure needs a wife.

Not to worry, life is good as long as it doesn't end abruptly. I really appreciate your kind words and I'm so glad you've found something in my style you are able to use in your own writing. Keep in mind, by the strict definition, most heroes and heroines of literature are Mary Sue's and Gary Stu's. For example, Agatha Christie undoubtedly identified with Miss Marple, Arthur Conan Doyle probably put a lot of himself into Sherlock Holmes. The same can be said for James Bond and even Superman. There is nothing wrong with it; maybe someone like J.K. Rowling can write books about being a teenage boy in wizard school (something she clearly has never experienced) but most writers stick with what they know and you know yourself better than anyone. I'll be sure to check in on your story, I've always like the Buffy stories.

As always, thank you for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/08/09 - 01:44 am Title: Rhosgobel

What an interesting chapter; getting to know the bears! I am not that familiar on the Beornings so thank you for the pieces of information (I know some of it is your own thoughts but I love how you explore more of Arda with each chapter. Please keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks! If I had any plan at all when I started writing, it was to explore the different aspects of Tolkien's works that he didn't go into great detail about. I really appreciate the feedback. P.S. in my last reply, I meant 'waiting for' not 'eaiting'. However, Mom isn't feeling well tonight and I'm trying to decide whether to re-read and post 127 anyway and just fix any errors reported to me after the fact, or wait. Any preference?

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/08/09 - 12:14 am Title: Double the pleasure, double the fun

Yay!yay!yay! 3 updates! How delightful! You have made my week. I enjoyed reading about Radagast's wife and the 3 of them (Her, Galadriel, Elaura's mom) were a fun get-together and her mom's joke about Maglor- Freaking amazing, I loved it!

Author's Response: I have to say it is a good feeling that my writing makes you so happy! Thank you very much for the review. I am currently eaiting for my beta reader (Mom) to wake up so I can edit and post 127. Things are picking up and my characters are speaking to me again . . . a lot. Hopefully they will keep the writers' block at bay!

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/08/09 - 12:30 pm Title: Double the pleasure, double the fun

I'm so glad you have updated, i've missed my favourite story these last few months, i know how real life can muck up any writing though, i've not written anything for the last few months, been really busy!!!.
great chapter, i like how we are seeing the twins personality already. legolas smoking gave me a giggle, i kept getting him with a cigar in my head not a pipe :)

off to read and review the next two chapters! thanks for writing, it is very much enjoyed x

P.s please check out my art pages, i've added some new stuff and would love you to look at it. i've added the link to my profile on here to make it easier.

Author's Response: Hello lady! Life goes in those kinds of cycles; sometimes there's plenty of time and sometimes the days are just too short. I can picture Legolas with a cigar better than I can a pipe, actually. Thanks for the review.

Abi, I did finally check out your art and pointed my mom there as well. Of course I love your rendition of Maglor! It's hard to pick out my favorites. You have an incredible eye for fashion; I'd love to wear some of those dresses. The horses, Witch King, and serpents are so detailed, as well as the architecture of Rivendell and Barad-dur. Clearly your skill isn't limited to any particular subject matter. May I suggest you take an anatomical art class if you have the opportunity? I'm positive that with the attention to detail you display, you could do amazing work with the humanoid form. The one titled "A Different kind of Beauty" shows you already have talent in this area. If I had to choose one, I think the Balrog would be my favorite, but it's like choosing a particular flavor of ice-cream . . . I like it all!

Oh, Mom said to tell you she's very impressed too. Also, there was one of your favorites: "Elven path" by ~wrednawiedzma. She said that's how she pictures Elaura riding through Mirkwood with Alfroval and Rhuinsell. That's a mother for you, she sees what she wants to see.

Reviewer: Atlantian Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/08/09 - 12:27 pm Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone

Hi there,

Like I said I love this story, I was glad to find out there were three new chapters and they were great. Thank you for welcoming me as one of your writing followers:)I can’t wait for more, hopefully many more books will follow. I hope that everything works out in real life for you. I review again when you update, I will be back!

Author's Response: Thanks! Oh yes, many more books to follow. My mother and I were discussing Elaura's distant future and the one thing we can't agree on is just how long she'll live. Mom wants it to last as long as possible, but I am, unfortunately, constrained by Tolkien's inescapable timeline. Luckily, it gets kind of hazy after the fall of Sauron and gives me wiggle room.

That said, things are looking up for me, thank you for the well wishes. I'm currently waiting for my beta reader (Mom) to wake up so I can edit and post chapter 127.

As always, I greatly appreciate you reading my story and taking time to review!

You must login (register) to review.