You must login (register) to review.
Title: The Difference between Fiend and Friend . . . Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed
I just read your bio and you answered my question. Glad to know there will be more. Congratulations on your marriage. Love your writing and love Elaura. I am a first time fanfic author and read your story when I need a break from my own.

Author's Response: Thank you for your well-wishes as well as your review. It's such a pleasure to know I can provide someone else a diversion; I certainly know what it's like to need a break. Well, break time is over for me. I will be getting back to writing ASAP.

- Elaura
Date: May 07 2010 10:51 pm [Report This]
Title: The Difference between Fiend and Friend . . . Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed
This is one of my favorite fanfics and I'm only on Chpt. 50. I'm afraid there won't be anymore though. I see it's been a while since you have updated or received a review on this story. I encourage you to continue on. There are those of us who are still reading your work and enjoying it immensely. In the meantime, I'll have plenty more reading to keep me busy. Just don't leave it hanging without an ending. Please update.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

Yes, I understand your concern. I would be just as worried starting a story that hasn't been updated in over a year. I've had a lot of life-changing events in this past year, but things seem to be settling down a bit. I intend to finish this story before Christmas and begin the tale of Amlug by the first of the year. In the meantime, there are two other books in the series which will be posted as I go.

I hope you are still interested in reading the rest!

- Elaura
Date: May 07 2010 09:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Eryn Lasgalen Reviewer: Cluck Girl Signed
I lost count long, long ago of the many times reading this has made me late for school or kept me up till the early hours. It's really amazing stuff and I can't wait for more. Also, I hope your mom's better soon if she's not already.

Author's Response: YAY! I finally (re-)figured out how to make paragraphs in my responses! Phew. Sorry. Thank you so much for your review and your concern. Although my life has changed so much in the last year, I think I'm finally ready to settle down in a quiet place and listen for the characters to continue telling me their story. Look for a new chapter soon.

I do apologize for causing you to be late and lose sleep! ;)

- Elaura
Date: Apr 15 2010 09:00 am [Report This]
Title: Eryn Lasgalen Reviewer: elfenears Signed
hey elaura, just finished reading book 3 through again and thought i'd review to let you know i'm still enjoying it. hope you had a great holiday season! hope you'll update soon x

Author's Response: Thanks. Last Christmas was absolutely insane, with the wedding and all. Thanks for reading and reviewing! - Elaura

still testing format codes
Date: Jan 26 2010 03:27 pm [Report This]
Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone Reviewer: Luna Signed
Hey!! Its been a while... Any chance you'll give us a delicious Christmas present of another chapter?? :) Hope things are going well in your life... I miss Elaura's adventures!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry. Thanks for keeping an eye out for me. I'll be back soon. I can't believe It's been over a year since my last post. Where does the time go? I wonder if elves aske themselves that? /br testing format
Date: Dec 19 2009 04:22 pm [Report This]
Title: Eryn Lasgalen Reviewer: Luna Signed
 

Wow, so many updates in such a short amount of time! Yay! Thank you for deciding to post this chapter even without your beta. I didn't find any problems in it and really enjoyed the following: the joke about the use of the geese feathers, Taeniôn thinking about adopting (to me love is love, and I appreciate you giving that perspective with those four characters), background on what happened to Elaura's fam when she left them, the twins beating up Maglor and Legolas (HILARIOUS!!), Elaura using magic to give us the babie's perspectives, the babies being able to see/do magic, and some more background on the Castle place.

 

Woo! That's a lot of things to like I guess :)

 

As for you earlier comments on my last reviews, thanks. You're right about the Mary Sue thing and authors identifying with their characters. To be honest, I never really thought about it until I got into reading fanfiction and saw so many people demonizing it. But I am certainly learning the difference between a ‘bad' Mary Sue and a ‘good' one.  

 

Yes, please be sure to check in on my story :) It's funny... I only meant it to be a drabble to get my brain back into writing but I've become unexpectantly dedicated to it... I'm up to 28 chapters now and over 50,000 words. Funny thing is not only is it already longer than expected, but I have a while to go until my major plotline gets resolved so it will be pretty long if I can finish it!

 

As always, thank you for continuing to write. I am happy to see them reach Legolas' home and I am interested where you plan to leave off Book 3 and how the twins will develop. I am enjoying seeing the soft version of Elaura and the cute things with the babies, but I miss her warrior side!! Oh, and I cannot wait until the begetting day celebration!! My favorite moments are when everyone (Fellowship and Elaura's other friends) are together.



Author's Response: Oh and now imagine my utter embarrassment at just stopping there! I'm glad you enjoyed it all. It was a fun chapter to write and I truly had no intention of it being the last one for over a year! I'm a bad, bad person. I really am sorry. Life got in the way, but now I'm feeling a bit more on an even keel and I'm ready to continue the saga. Of course I intend to finish this book, then write the story of Amlug, but there are two more books in the series that will be posted, too. [/p] I had that same conversation about Mary-Sues with my niece. She was caught up in the backlash against the TWilight series and I had to explain to her that writers don't write with a movie deal in mind. They write what they feel like writing and whether or not it becomes a best-seller or a hit movie is not up to the author, nor a true reflection of his or her talent. It's a reflection of what the market wants at that time. Most artists are unappreciated by the masses until long after they've passed on. Art is made first and appreciated much later. If you happen to become a legend in your own time, you've won the lottery. Enjoy![/p] Thank you for taking the time to review.[/p] - Elaura[/p] P.S. I will keep your expectations in mind, I promise.
Date: Aug 29 2009 06:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Eryn Lasgalen Reviewer: NocturneRomanza Signed
Very good chapter, I just love the babies, the little bear suits are just adorable. I'm excited about them getting to the palace, and Elaura meeting her people. I hope all is well with you, and give my best wishes to your mum, I hope she recovers soon.

Cheers

Author's Response: Thank you. I know I'm a terrible author for leaving you hanging for over a year, but life has a way of telling you when you need to take a break, and I sorely needed one. I'm back on my feet now and intend to get this book wrapped up. If you're still interested, the next book should cover Amlug, but it isn't the last of the saga, by far. Thanks for the review! - Elaura
Date: Aug 26 2009 09:21 am [Report This]
Title: Rhosgobel Reviewer: elfenears Signed
sorry about the delay in reviewing.
another great chapter, i love how the parents are bringing out all the baby stories, especially loved the one with legolas and oropher! the description of rhosgobel is amazing, i've never given much thought to the beornings before, i like how they are a big part of your story. the cubs with the pillows and legolas were adorable and amazingly written, i wish i had half your imagination.
i liked the quote from lion king, that bit always makes me laugh, i think lion king was the vey first film i saw in the cinema, ah the memories :)

thanks for what you said about my artwork, it means alot as i dont get many comments on them and am usually too shy to show them off in person. i'm glad you liked the dresses, i've got loads of them that aren't up on deviantart, i've always liked designing clothes.
say thanks and get well to your mum
thanks for writing as always to you!

Author's Response: Okie dokie. I'm going to answer each of these reviews one at a time, in order, so I don't miss anything. I'm sorry if I'm reading old news. I've had a few life-changing event which are not settled, but there is light at the end of the tunnel. Delay in reviewing? How about a year to reply? I'm so far past bad, I should have my own lily-pad in a flaming lake. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Beornings. They were a lot of fun to write about. I finally figured out why I wrote this story. There were always things I wanted to know more about in Middle Earth and I figured the only way to find out was to write it myself. Now I know. Soon, I will continue writing, post my other two stories I've been working on and if I have any readers left, they will know "the rest of the story" as well. I've always like that monkey! As for your artwork: I think you have great talent and you should not be afraid to show it. You probably have too much emotional attachment to do it the way I did. Of course my "post it and damn what anyone else thinks" attitude has changed since I became emotionally attached to my writing . . . but it worked well in the beginning. :D Well, from the looks of it, I'm going to be replying to reviews until my fingers fall off, so I better get to the next one. Thanks again! I am just about ready to finish up book three and write the story of Amlug. My characters have enjoyed their rest, but now it's time to get back to work. - Elaura
Date: Aug 25 2009 02:08 am [Report This]
Title: Another Feast, Bear Style Reviewer: NocturneRomanza Signed
I have actually been following your story for a long while, I read the whole thing and then waited impatiently for you to update. Checked every day, actually. I was rather disheartened when it took a while, and when you finally updated it made my day. And yet I didn't review, which I feel was wrong of me. If someone liked a story I wrote so much, I would dearly like to know. So I thought I should write this, and try and convey just how much I appreciate your writing. When I checked today and realized you had updated and started reading, I realized I had actually really missed you. I think you are a truly talented and amazing lady. And I certainly hope you will continue your good work for a long time to come.

ps. The new chapters are fantastic.

Author's Response: As I've said before, I love to hear from new reviewers! Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review. I know exactly how you feel when an author leaves you hanging in the middle of a story. My only excuse it that when I write and I'm either rushed or the story isn't flowing, it's even more disappointing when it just goes bad. Reviews do keep me going during the bad patches and I appreciate them very much.

I'm deeply touched that you missed Elaura. Thank you for being so complimentary. I won't stop writing, I promise. I think this has been the longest time between posting and I hope it remains the longest. I'm afriad I've already lost some of my readers and I'm truly sorry for that.

I've decided to go ahead and post 127 without my 'copy editor' reading it; please forgive any typos and let me know if you find them. Hope you enjoy it.
Date: Aug 21 2009 02:18 am [Report This]
Title: Another Feast, Bear Style Reviewer: Luna Signed

Legolas playing with teddy bears- how cute. Really, all the scenes involving the little bears was adorable. And interesting to look into what it must be like for a bear-child to start to change limbs into human limbs. That *would* be a difficult process. I also liked how Eluara said something to Thranduil about the clothing issue. Honestly, Legolas is 2,000 years old and doesn't need a mommy after all. lol

 Once again, I am saddened that I have reach the end (for now) of your story. Sorry to hear that life is rough; I hope you overcome whatever is going on. Regardless, it is in my humble opinion you have really created a work of art in this story. I thoroughly enjoy going through Elaura's journey and getting to know all aspects of Middle-Earth through her eyes. Also, thank you for showing me a different kind of Girl in Middle-Earth story- Since I started reading this story (starting in Feb?) its gotten me thinking about storywriting and you've helped inspire me to throw some creative thoughts out and begun creating my own story (also GIME but it features an OC from the Buffy the Vampire Slayer universe). But your character really got me thinking about how to avoid common Mary Sue pitfalls . So thank you! Your time and effort into this story is greatly appreciated. I hope I will see more updates soon. In the meantime, take care!



Author's Response: Yes, and we think human adolescence and pre-adolescence is hard! Yes, Legolas doesn't need a mommy, but he sure needs a wife.

Not to worry, life is good as long as it doesn't end abruptly. I really appreciate your kind words and I'm so glad you've found something in my style you are able to use in your own writing. Keep in mind, by the strict definition, most heroes and heroines of literature are Mary Sue's and Gary Stu's. For example, Agatha Christie undoubtedly identified with Miss Marple, Arthur Conan Doyle probably put a lot of himself into Sherlock Holmes. The same can be said for James Bond and even Superman. There is nothing wrong with it; maybe someone like J.K. Rowling can write books about being a teenage boy in wizard school (something she clearly has never experienced) but most writers stick with what they know and you know yourself better than anyone. I'll be sure to check in on your story, I've always like the Buffy stories.

As always, thank you for reading and reviewing.
Date: Aug 19 2009 08:07 pm [Report This]
Title: Rhosgobel Reviewer: Luna Signed
What an interesting chapter; getting to know the bears! I am not that familiar on the Beornings so thank you for the pieces of information (I know some of it is your own thoughts but I love how you explore more of Arda with each chapter. Please keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks! If I had any plan at all when I started writing, it was to explore the different aspects of Tolkien's works that he didn't go into great detail about. I really appreciate the feedback. P.S. in my last reply, I meant 'waiting for' not 'eaiting'. However, Mom isn't feeling well tonight and I'm trying to decide whether to re-read and post 127 anyway and just fix any errors reported to me after the fact, or wait. Any preference?
Date: Aug 18 2009 08:44 pm [Report This]
Title: Double the pleasure, double the fun Reviewer: Luna Signed
Yay!yay!yay! 3 updates! How delightful! You have made my week. I enjoyed reading about Radagast's wife and the 3 of them (Her, Galadriel, Elaura's mom) were a fun get-together and her mom's joke about Maglor- Freaking amazing, I loved it!

Author's Response: I have to say it is a good feeling that my writing makes you so happy! Thank you very much for the review. I am currently eaiting for my beta reader (Mom) to wake up so I can edit and post 127. Things are picking up and my characters are speaking to me again . . . a lot. Hopefully they will keep the writers' block at bay!
Date: Aug 18 2009 07:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Double the pleasure, double the fun Reviewer: elfenears Signed
I'm so glad you have updated, i've missed my favourite story these last few months, i know how real life can muck up any writing though, i've not written anything for the last few months, been really busy!!!.
great chapter, i like how we are seeing the twins personality already. legolas smoking gave me a giggle, i kept getting him with a cigar in my head not a pipe :)

off to read and review the next two chapters! thanks for writing, it is very much enjoyed x

P.s please check out my art pages, i've added some new stuff and would love you to look at it. i've added the link to my profile on here to make it easier.

Author's Response: Hello lady! Life goes in those kinds of cycles; sometimes there's plenty of time and sometimes the days are just too short. I can picture Legolas with a cigar better than I can a pipe, actually. Thanks for the review.

Abi, I did finally check out your art and pointed my mom there as well. Of course I love your rendition of Maglor! It's hard to pick out my favorites. You have an incredible eye for fashion; I'd love to wear some of those dresses. The horses, Witch King, and serpents are so detailed, as well as the architecture of Rivendell and Barad-dur. Clearly your skill isn't limited to any particular subject matter. May I suggest you take an anatomical art class if you have the opportunity? I'm positive that with the attention to detail you display, you could do amazing work with the humanoid form. The one titled "A Different kind of Beauty" shows you already have talent in this area. If I had to choose one, I think the Balrog would be my favorite, but it's like choosing a particular flavor of ice-cream . . . I like it all!

Oh, Mom said to tell you she's very impressed too. Also, there was one of your favorites: "Elven path" by ~wrednawiedzma. She said that's how she pictures Elaura riding through Mirkwood with Alfroval and Rhuinsell. That's a mother for you, she sees what she wants to see.
Date: Aug 17 2009 07:30 am [Report This]
Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone Reviewer: Atlantian Signed
Hi there,

Like I said I love this story, I was glad to find out there were three new chapters and they were great. Thank you for welcoming me as one of your writing followers:)I can’t wait for more, hopefully many more books will follow. I hope that everything works out in real life for you. I review again when you update, I will be back!

Author's Response: Thanks! Oh yes, many more books to follow. My mother and I were discussing Elaura's distant future and the one thing we can't agree on is just how long she'll live. Mom wants it to last as long as possible, but I am, unfortunately, constrained by Tolkien's inescapable timeline. Luckily, it gets kind of hazy after the fall of Sauron and gives me wiggle room.

That said, things are looking up for me, thank you for the well wishes. I'm currently waiting for my beta reader (Mom) to wake up so I can edit and post chapter 127.

As always, I greatly appreciate you reading my story and taking time to review!
Date: Aug 17 2009 07:27 am [Report This]
Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone Reviewer: Atlantian Signed
i love this story! It toke some time to read everything but i have done it. Please write more:)

Author's Response: Well hello there! It's always nice to hear from a new reader. Thank you for reading and taking the time to review. Don't worry, there's lots more to come. I've just been experiencing a rather nasty confluence of unfortunate events that all seem to be working themselves out. I look forward to hearing from you again!
Date: Jul 16 2009 04:22 am [Report This]
Title: Elaura’s Trip gets Trippier Reviewer: elfenears Signed
Cant remember if i reviewed this chapter or not when i read it the first time, ive read it twice now and still finding new little things i love about your writing :)
Please update soon, i'm getting withdrawel symptoms here!!! please please for my birthday (puppy dog eyes) lol,
hope you are well!!!! x

Author's Response: * hangs head in shame* I missed your birthday; I'm sorry. I have been spending my spare time on the story, though. Fixing typos and continuity issues and thinking about what is to come. Thanks for hanging in there! I have promised before I wouldn't leave you hanging, and I won't. Unless death take me and my mother can't figure out how to post what I have already written, it WILL come.
Date: Jun 30 2009 12:30 am [Report This]
Title: Elaura’s Trip gets Trippier Reviewer: Luna Signed

Elaura & Legolas not remembering each other- I was not expecting that. But their reunion was so cute.

I love that the Ent fruit made the babies be born! I was wondering how soon it would be until we'd see them! Loved the whole setting of the birth and its circumstance.

Elaura's mom being there- Wonderful! So sweet. As to how/why she is there, very creative. I didn't know if you would transport her into Middle Earth like Elaura, but the 'death' and Gandalf delivering the journals was a great concept.

As always, I love this story. Looking forward to upcoming chapters!



Author's Response: You know nothing ever happens in Elaura's life as she expects! Can't you just picture Gimli wanting to knock Legolas over the head and drag him out of there? Thanks for your support with the little twists and turns. I do try not to get out of the realm of belief. Thanks again for reviewing. More to come . . . much more!
Date: May 17 2009 09:30 pm [Report This]
Title: So What if Elaura Can’t Knit? Reviewer: Luna Signed

I enjoyed Eowyn's sense of humor as much as Elaura :)

 

And I'm quite pleased to see there is still danger and battle in Elaura's future... I really dislike the idea of her knitting haha. I'm SO glad she gave that up!



Author's Response: Hi Luna! LOL @ knitting. It just isn't her style, is it? Yes, there shall be more adventures to come. Thank you for reading and reviewing and please forgive me my tardiness in responding and posting.
Date: May 16 2009 01:27 pm [Report This]
Title: Elaura’s Trip gets Trippier Reviewer: lilyoftheval5 Signed
Thank you very much. For writing this. For surprising me yet again with the 'memory forgotten' thing. For having those babies finally delivered.
All well!

Author's Response: I appreciate your patience and your review. I'm sure Elaura was getting pretty anxious, too. I'm glad you liked Elaura and Legolas' memory lapse. In such blessed times, it's kind of hard to keep things interesting, you know? Not to worry, I'm back. I'm sorry I didn't respond sooner, but life here has been less than conducive to writing. It's looking up, though. Hope you and yours are well and happy.
Date: May 16 2009 07:57 am [Report This]
Title: Storytime Reviewer: Luna Signed

Aw, I do find it adorable that Elaura is more 'feminine' and how everyone is reacting to her. Admittingly, I don't like the idea of ever becoming pregnant and dealing with all the negatives that go with it, but you do present a blessful side to it.

I know its been a while since I've been on this site, but I am so happy that you are continuing to write! I will continue to read and may take you up on that offer to e-mail you and ask for your draft... Thank you for being an awesome author!!!



Author's Response: That's sweet, thank you. You needn't apologize; as you can see, I've been away a while myself. Real life has a way of getting between us and our passions. I appreciate very much the fact you are reading and have taken the time to review. I'm still writing, I hope you will continue to read.
Date: May 15 2009 09:29 pm [Report This]
Title: Elaura’s Trip gets Trippier Reviewer: Sarifina Signed

Great chapters! I'm glad the babies are finally here.

I hope this doesn't mean that when Elaura does die that Legolas will forget her again though. That would be kinda sad.

Look forward to reading more! Update soon!



Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you. No, by that time this effect should be in the distant past. However, it will keep them from taking chances along the way. I'm truly ashamed at how long it's been. I should have at least responded to your review before now, but things are looking up in my world and I hope to keep the flow going. Now to worry, I have NOT abandoned you, Elaura, or the Series. Not by a long shot!
Date: May 04 2009 10:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Elaura’s Trip gets Trippy Reviewer: elfenears Signed
loved this chapter, but when do i not love any chapter of this story :) wasent expecting the twist of having elaura forget legolas. all the elves were really worried and she was quite happy wandering around in the middle even witha big hole in her memories.
off to read chapter 123, thanks for writing xx

Author's Response: That concept didn't start out so good. I argued with my mother about how severe it should be. Originally it was to be a bit more dark and sinister, so I'm glad you like how it turned out. Thanks for the review! I'm off to answer the next one! :)
Date: Apr 24 2009 07:53 am [Report This]
Title: Man may work from sun to sun, but Wizard’s work is never done.* Reviewer: elfenears Signed
a great chapter, lots of goodbyes and explanations. i loved how you put the old lady who helped elaura way back, it was so sweet and yet sad how she still believed her son to be writing too her. love the chapter title as well, i've found when writing that titles can be the hardest thing to think of lol x off to read the other chapters, thanks for writing x

Author's Response: No kidding! I'll sometimes go through twenty titles until I find one that fits. I'm glad you liked the part with the old woman. I had originally thought she might be Yavanna in disguise, but all kindness doesn't have to be one of the Valar. The story, after all, is not about them. I'm really sorry for taking SO FREAKING LONG to respond and post. I feel like I should be flogged, but the alternative, unfortunately, is forcing it. As a writer, yourself, I'm sure you know you can't force it. When you try, it turns out rotten. Thanks again for reading and reviewing. It's people like you that keep me from chucking the whole project when I have writer's block.
Date: Apr 23 2009 01:47 am [Report This]
Title: Elaura’s Trip gets Trippier Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed
Aww this is lovely! At last they have their family!!! A beautiful chapter I loved it and cant wait for more! THe babies sound adorable! I loved the way ELaura's mother came into the story, and had fun thinking of Gandalf riding on a huge bike! Hehe!! Fantastic!

Author's Response: Thanks again. I've found a cute little pic online that has the look of Telperion and Laurelin. I'd be happy to send it along, but since it's of a real person I feel a little funny posting it. I hope all is well with you and yours.
Date: Apr 22 2009 02:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Midges, coming through, Party of Millions Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed
This chapter was brilliant, I especially thought it was hilarious when I was reading about the males with the insect bites, just the images your words described in my minds eye made me giggle! Absolutely fantastic, i'm off now to read the next chapter! Cheerio!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate the fact you have continued to read this story and continued to review, despite my irresponsible lack of posting as of late. I hope you continue to enjoy it. I'm very much looking forward to posting the next book in the series, but there are a few more chapters left of this one to finish, first.
Date: Apr 22 2009 11:27 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.