You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/02/09 - 12:49 am Title: Silly Elves, Tricks are for Kids

LooOOooVe it:

"“It’s a place they send teenagers from thirteen to eighteen years old. Like a jail, but with teachers. The children are supposedly taught how to be good citizens, but I think it was just a place to hide us while our minds caught up with the development of our bodies."

Author's Response: That's how I thought of highschool anyway. The anticipation was written on every parents' face in August and dread that we would soon be released again in Spring. Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/02/09 - 10:32 pm Title: Through the Eyes of an Elf

LOVE LOVE LOVE this:
"You thought the purple dinosaur was bad? I’ve got Smurfs, Snorks, Fraggles, and Teletubbies where he came from. You never should have tried this,” there was great anger in her voice and Aragorn and I both took a small step back; the Evil One’s fear of the beasts she mentioned was apparent and we did not wish to see anything which could strike fear in his heart." HILARIOUS.

And I thought it was great to have a chapter from Legolas' point of view and allow Elaura to show him her world.
Absolutly lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you! Legolas needed to get his feet wet in the writing arena. I have to admit, sometimes I'll reread and wonder, 'who wrote this stuff?' I'll often laugh when I'm writing, too. Is that conceited? Most of all I look forward to hearing what the readers think. I really appreciate you taking the time to give me feedback. It's a little hard knowing whether things I think are funny really are . . . no laughtrack. Thanks again for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/02/09 - 07:22 am Title: A Gift for the Drúedain

Another great chapter, i'm glad you put in the druedain and the valar's gift for them. i always found them fascinating when i read the books, they have a feel as if they could stilll be out there deep in forests waiting.
grrrr to saruman still mucking about in things, when he should be concerned about his closest companion.
Were the bandits actual canibals or was that just to scare them, if it was they have sunk low.
thanks for writing, i'm looking forward to chapter 118 and no worries about myspace and deviant art, they are sometimes problematic with my computer and we have broadband. x

Author's Response: Ooh! Shoot, I haven't even thought about your art. Another book in the series got in my head and I've been writing on that one. It takes place about forty years after the War of the Ring and has many of the same characters and some new ones. They wouldn't get out on my head.

Yes, the bandits were really going to eat them and Saruman isn't out of Elaura's hair yet.

I believe the Druedain are still out there and since they're just across the river from North Ithilien, we'll probably be seeing them again.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, I'll have chapters 118, 119, and 120 up in the next 24 hours. One thing is for certain, I won't just leave you wondering. It's in my will that my other books be posted if anything ever happens to me. 8-) You will get the end of the story, I promise!

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/02/09 - 02:04 am Title: Peacocks and Chameleons

LOL... Elaura dressing up as an old woman- CLASSIC stuff! Loved the whole scene, I was laughing out loud.

I'm also glad that you managed to figure out a way for them to head into battle... I was afraid things could get boring in peacetime. Glad to know that Gimli's ax will once again be used! :)

Author's Response: Oh, you know how it is, trouble will always crop up; there are some people who just can't stand to be happy. I'm glad you enjoyed this one. Sorry it's been so long, but I'm still writing. I won't leave you hanging. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/02/09 - 12:47 pm Title: Departure of a Hero

Brilliant chapter again, something about this story makes you absolutly believe while reading it, i get swept up when reading about all the magic stuff and while it could sound so wrong, you do a wonderful job of it.
mant partings indeed in this chapter, i love hallas now but cannot wait to see how you write the funeral and especially mirkwood. keep up the great work x

Author's Response: Thanks! I do try to keep things as down to earth as possible, but I would imagine, in a world so permeated with magic, if there were any time in Middle Earth's history that the Valar could be free with their blessings, this would be it. Theoden certainly deserved it.

I'll have to hit the books again and re-familiarize myself with how Tolkien wrote the last chapters of Return of the King. I'm still debating whether to end Book 3 before or after the Scouring of the Shire (as Elaura won't be there). However, Elaura's tale won't end there by a long shot.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.

P.S. we had a bad storm here this week and I'm having a little trouble accessing myspace and deviantart consistently. I will check them out again before the end of the week.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/02/09 - 06:34 am Title: Feastus Interruptus

Great chapter, interesting dream of amlug for us to ponder. love the interactions between the elves and elaura especailly the family side with thranduil.
poor aragorn, elaura and thranduil for suffering as they do, i drink enough milk for all of them in a day.
cannot wait for more, thanks for wriiting. x
did you get my myspace message about my artwork?

Author's Response: Oh shoot! I haven't been on myspace in some time. I'm checking it out now. I'll answer you there.

Good to hear you drink your milk! Personally, I'm not as bad as Elaura; I can drink milk straight, but if I add sugar to my cereal or eat more than a little icecream, I do get pretty sick.

Thanks for the review, chapter 116 is up and now I'm proofing 117. Enjoy!

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/09 - 12:33 pm Title: Elaura Von Frankenstein

I'm not sure if you are aware, but 've noticed quite a few times in various chapters that quotaton marks are put in the wrong area. Example:

“Nonsense, it will be done all the quicker were I to take care of it personally,” Aragorn replied.”

I honestly don't really care about grammer as much; I get what you are trying to say. But in case you care, I thought I'd let you know.

So many interesting developments. Elaura- a Wizard! Who would have thought. Once again I am surprised that you character gains such great achievements, yet never does it seem strange or cheapened. THe story just makes sense.
Oh, but I am excited to see that Elaura has a new adversary! Peace is sweet, but conflict is fun! (Well, I am writing this review near the beginning of the chapter, in case by the end the Warden is cool with Elaura and my words seem to not make sense)

Author's Response: Actually, I do care very much. That particular typo has become a bad habit, I'm afraid. For some reason, my brain seems to think every paragraph should end in a closed quote. Thank you for letting me know there is one in that chapter. I haven't gotten around to fixing much of Book three as I'm currently writing it, but I will. I just reread a chapter in which Eowyn is cursed with contractions . . . which I try to reserve for the speech of Elaura, Dwarves, and Hobbits, for the most part.

Well, actually, Elaura doesn't tend to run across a lot of people who don't like her, but I suppose that's natural, too. She's friends with Aragorn and married to an Elf Prince; it wouldn't be to the advantage of the citizens of the Reunited Kingdom and Eryn Lasgalen to tick off the royals by picking a fight with Elaura, no matter how they really feel.

I was as surprised as anyone when Elaura's magical abilities showed up. I suppose it isn't cheesy because there is a reason for her to have them and she doesn't use them too much. She remains aware of the fact she isn't a Maia, or an Istar, and she certainly isn't hung up on whether people want to call her a wizard, a sorceress, or a witch.

Thank you very much for the review. I hope you continue to enjoy the story.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/09 - 03:05 pm Title: The Wizards’ Duel

Such detailed desription of the surgery, it always plays out like the camera on a CSI autopsy where they go through the bodies but much more involved as the patients are not dead yet lol. i like the little mention of namo in this chapter and how elaura reacted to the energy drain, good thing gandalf intervened before she hugged every citizen of gondor. the battle was good, much fluffier than i had imagined before i read it. though gandalf was going to be lynched by elaura's family when he used the pregant warrior thing against her.
thanks for updating, hope you are well, i'll go read the next chapter x

Author's Response: Thank you! As I've said before, the story writes itself. I know some folks might have been hoping the Wizards' duel would be more exciting, but I expect there will be enough opportunities for the magic feathers to fly in the future. Personally, I'm hoping Elaura doesn't have too many more opportunities to ply her craft in surgery, though as you'll find in Chapter 115, that is unlikely. ;)

Funny about the pregnant warrior thing, I think Elaura is finally coming to understand she shouldn't take things at face value in Middle Earth; now it's time for everyone else to get with the program.

As always, thank you for taking time to review and thanks for reading. I've posted 115 and I'm proofing 116 now. Take care!

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/09 - 05:36 pm Title: ¿Cómo se llama su llama?

I adore that Macavity shows up. I'm curious- Why did you name him that? Is it pronounced Mac- Cavity???

Author's Response: Macavity, pronounced ma-ca-vi-ty with the emphasis on the second syllable, is based on a stray cat that wandered into my folks' house one day and claimed them as his staff. The original Macavity in T.S. Eliot's poem "Macavity, the Mystery Cat" and the Broadway musical "Cats" based on Eliot's works was ginger colored and a bit more dastardly than the long-haired white Macavity of my books and his short-haired, black and white namesake.

They are all, however, classic examples of the feline race. Proud, mysterious, and sometimes downright criminal in their ability to get into leftovers, steal things to hide for later play, assault and battery with thier razor-sharp claws, and utter vandalism in the form of clearing a tabletop of fragile keepsakes.

My parents' cat just appeared one day and made himself at home among their five dogs. He cleared the grounds of all manner of vermin, including mice, rats, and snakes. He was also one of those rare pets that displays a level of intelligence that is almost preternatural.

Unfortunately, he wasn't smart enough not to play in the road and came to a premature end. His spirit lives on in my books and also in a pair of kittens we now share our farmhouse with. Maybe someday, they'll make it into the story as well.

Thanks for asking, Luna. If you've never read T.S. Eliot or seen the musical "Cats", I highly recommend them.

Reviewer: DarkDreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/09 - 07:47 pm Title: Paradise Interrupted

I'll never get enough of this! I love it so much!

As I've said before, you are an excellent writer and I can't wait until you update! I hope you have doing good, it's been a while since we talked.

Author's Response: Ah, great to hear from you again! Everything is going well here. I've managed to keep my back from spasming for almost two months, so I think I've finally learned (after 38 years) how to pick things up and what exactly 'too heavy' is. I certainly hope your life is happy and healthy!

Thanks for taking the time to review; it's good to have you back. I'm working on splitting up the next three chapters. 113 is good, but needs a title. 114 is too short and 115 is too long, so I need to figure out where to re-cut them. Those last two need titles as well. I'll probably stay up late tonight and get them proofed and posted. It's a coffee night, that's for sure.

Take care and let me know how you're doing.

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/02/09 - 03:07 am Title: An Eye for an Eye Socket

Greetings Elaura! I looked over the review per your request and I have no trouble reading your story- it is separated well by paragraphs.

I will say, some fanfics with Legolas falling in love with a modern woman can be very silly and poorly written. Yours is not. Its interesting... I am usually very skeptical about fanfics and how storylines go, but for whatever reason, yours works. I get it.

I was even thinking "Why do I love this story so much and spend whatever free time I have reading it? In many ways, the plot could be silly and annoying. Everyone loves the main character. She bagged the hottest elf. She's super awesome at everything..." But you have written this story, thus far of what I've read, very well. I believe it. Elaura is not annoying. She slowly became good at things and there were struggles. Events are tied in extremely well to Tolkien's books. The characters are simply brought to life in a different way through your words. You've done a great job. I almost wish you hadn't done a great job & I thought of all this first ;) lol

As always, I look forward to continuing reading! I'm interested in Maglor, what further use the Vala will have for Elaura, when she'll finally end up meeting Legolas' fam in Mirkwood, Arwen showing up, and babies! Of course, I have no idea how far you have written, but you do have a hell of a lot of chapters!

Many many thanks for the time you put into this!

Author's Response: Hello again! Thank you for checking on that paragraph thing for me. I guess I'll have to wait until mps clarifies to figure out why it doesn't look right to him/her.

I appreciate your detailed critique; it's very nice to know the work I've put into the story wasn't in vain. Of course, that's not to say I don't get affirmation from all of my reviews, even the negative ones are extremely helpful. I consider those very aspects you mentioned about the plot and characterizations constantly as I write. I think my mom gets tired of me asking her after each chapter, 'is it believable?' 'Is Elaura coming off whiny?' or too smart, too talented, too confident?

I'm glad how much work Elaura has done to come into her talents is apparent in the story; I never wanted her to appear as if everything was just handed to her on a silver platter. Most importantly, I am honored you think I'm doing justice to Tolkien's original works. Sometimes being tied to his timeline is a little challenging, as readers (and me for that matter) are ready for what comes next and we all still have to wait for the day to arrive.

You came across the story at a good time. All of your expectations are in the chapters that are already posted, except she hasn't made it to Mirkwood yet. The most recent chapter I've written and intend to get posted tonight, has the funeral procession on its way to Rohan. Sadly, the end is in sight for this book, but I have a lot of book four written already.

Thanks for all of your insights and compliments. I look forward to keeping my readers satisfied for a while. Wish me luck.

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/09 - 05:56 pm Title: The Longest Day

Oh this was such a great chapter! It even almost makes me wanting to cry, knowing they will not be parted! Ah, I have no words to describe my utter happiness with this story :)

Author's Response: Aww, you're making me blush! It's good to hear from you again. Hey, if you get the chance, could you look over mps' review and let me know if you are seeing what he/she is? The last thing I want is for the story to be hard to read.

I do appreciate your insight on that particular chapter, too. As I mentioned in one of your previous reviews, a lot of folks have a definite aversion to Legolas falling in love with anyone, especially a modern woman dropped into Middle Earth. I'm really glad you are enjoying it. Thanks again for taking the time to let me know what you think of my story! Keep reading, there's a lot more to come.

Reviewer: mps Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/01/09 - 10:31 am Title: The Mysteries of the Bloodstone

i love this series. it is so much better than most other "dropped in middle earth" fics.

but please, please, paragraphs! it is hard to read.

Author's Response: Thanks! I love to hear from new readers. I don't understand what you mean about the paragraphs, though. I'm trying to keep it as readable as possible. Can you explain a little better? SInce it looks okay to me, and I haven't heard of this problem before, tell me what skin you're using and whether you use Internet Explorer, Opera, Firefox, or another browser and I'll try to reproduce the problem you're having. I'll do my best to fix any errors, if you tell me what and where they are. Thanks for the review, hope to hear from you again.

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/09 - 06:03 pm Title: Paradise Interrupted

Hi,
Thanks for the swift update! I'm soo glad Eowyn is okay! Poor Hilda! I loved this chapter and look forward to reading the next. Until then cheerio!

Author's Response: Thank you! I couldn't leave you all hanging very long. Naturally I couldn't resist a little suspense, but my mother would have killed me if I hadn't written the rest immediately. As always, I love the feedback and I'll have the next few chapters up soon.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/09 - 03:38 pm Title: Paradise Interrupted

hannon le for this chapter. it started of great with the breakfast then poor hilda, ive seen this problem in big dogs and its not nice at all, glad you made her all better.
i love how you write the girls getting together in this, you make them have fun while still retaining elveness.
cannot wait to see more of the contest, do we get to see more ellyn hotness, can you have elrond and celeborn fight it out - that i'd like to see.
thanks for writing and updating this x

Author's Response: Ohh, I don't think I covered anything between Elrond and Celeborn . . . maybe I'll write a little vignette just for you, since you're such a loyal reader. Your reviews are great too, they give me wonderful ideas.

Believe me, keeping the Ladies in character when they're drinking is a challenge, I appreciate you letting me know I'm on the right track.

I felt bad putting Hilda though all that, but she needed some face time . . . or rather muzzle time. I really can't imagine what the orderlies must have thought, seeing their king wiping a dog's rear.

Thanks for the review, keep on reading!

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/09 - 03:28 pm Title: Blinded by the Light *

great chapter, glad you didnt have eowyn get injured or die, she is one of the best characters especially the way you write her. i like how you have everyone react differently and eowyn learn from her fights as well as the untried soldiers.
poor elaura blinded by the daz whiteness of gandalfs mind, made up for it with the end bit there, thaks for writing

Author's Response: Thank you! I suppose if a glance at Sauron's mind could make Pip catatonic, a look into Gandalf's couldn't go unpunished either. I did used to put on a blindfold when I was little, just to see if I could get around. Never tried it with romance, though.

I appreciate your feedback about Eowyn, too. In my mind, all of the Ladies of Middle Earth got short changed by Tolkien in the character development department. I thought you knew me better than that, though. I would never ruin Aragorn and Arwen's wedding festival!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. I'll have a few more up soon.

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/09 - 12:31 pm Title: “If You Can Keep Your Head . . . ” *

Oh my goodness! Eowyn... I hope Elaura can help! You big meanie, leaving the chapter on a cliffie like that! - I hope the next one won't be far away! Needless to say I enjoyed every bit of this chapter as I do the others, and because I have not long ago read the one before this, I can't get the image of Maglor in leather out of my head! Hehehehe! I look forward to reading the next one, so until then, you take care!

Author's Response: Hee-hee. At least I didn't leave you hanging for long. The mental image of Maglor in his fighting clothes is hard to shake, I'll admit. Well, I need to go work on chapter 112, now. Thanks for reading and the feedback. I'm really glad you are enjoying my story.

Reviewer: Devonshirelass Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/09 - 11:37 am Title: The Contest

Hi, How's your back? I had a fantastic Christmas thx, hope yours was wonderful too?

I was reading this, and the first thing that I loved was the mental image of Maglor wearing tight leather trousers! A sight to behold! Hehehehe! - Wouldn't mind seeing that!
I am also desperately curious to find out who is behind these poisonous vapoured berry attacks., and Gimli's threat to hit Pippin with Elaura's staff made me giggle especially when he informed Pippin that he would hapily pick up Frodo and hit him witht he staff, this was funny! Hehehehe! I pictured this in my mind so vividly!
I wouldn't mind tasting some of that glittery dust! I look forward to reading more, especially about Elaura's birthday party!
(And what's a Sasquatch?)
I hope you have a wonderful New Year, Take care, until next time!

Author's Response: Well, the name "Sasquatch" originates with the Salish "Indians" of British Columbia and roughly translates as "wild man of the woods." Also known as Bigfoot and probably better known in Europe as a Yeti. For reference, try this wikipedia link: Bigfoot

Since the mental image most people have is related to local folklore, here's a pic of what Sasquatch looks like to me:

Hope this clears things up? Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm off to work on chapter 112.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/09 - 10:48 am Title: “If You Can Keep Your Head . . . ” *

What a cliffhanger, but we know eowyn cannot die, i hope. cannot wait to see how it all ends in the next chapter and how elaura fits in.
i liked the interragation of the grain killer :) though somehow it feels like thats not finished and he is hiding something, maybe thats only to me though.
thanks for updating, i look forward to the next one!

Author's Response: One never knows . . . I'm glad you enjoyed it. I imagine Methlagor will continue to be a thorn in the King's side for years to come. Civilized societies never really have figured out what to do with the criminally insane. I'm sorry the next chapter is a little short, but I found a good endpoint and wanted to get it up because of the cliffhanger in the last one. I'm proofing chapter 112, now. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/09 - 07:58 am Title: The Contest

hey i'm glad youre back and didnt lose your files, i remember that kinda thing happening to my, only mine was a college essay that i lost, in my case it was thank the lord for memory sticks :)

great chapter with some lovely interaction between characters. galadriel still checking out celeborn nice!!. i would love to be in a place with scenery like that.
its good to see the ladies working together to solve a problem and the males being the cover for once. eagerly waiting for the next chapter, thanks for this chapter x

Author's Response: Thanks much! Glad you liked 109! I hope you don't mind cliffhangers too much. I know I don't do it very often, but chapter 110 wrote itself that way. Anyway, after chapter 110, I still have two more written. I'll get 111 up as quickly as possible so as not to keep you in suspense too long. *weg* Thanks for the review!

You must login (register) to review.