You must login (register) to review.
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: Midnight Signed
AHHH!!! That is absoutly 'terrible', of course I guess that is where you are trying to get this to go to. I hope that Disney will never make a movie of Lord of the Rings, because you are right, they would do a terrible job of making it. I also feel that Peter Jackson and New Line did a fine job of making LOTR, for they at least stick to the story, most of the way, because it is nearly impossible to stick to the story 100%. Thank you for pointing out to us how poorly Disney would do on making LOTR if they choose to do so.


Author's Response: You're welcome. I really have fun horrifying people with these things!
Date: Feb 16 2009 06:01 pm [Report This]
Title: Eagle Poop and Bad Elvish Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed
Oh... Kay. Yes, the movies could have been a lot worse, but I do like them. Thank goodness Disney hasn't done a lotr movie. OMG, can you imagine someone twisting and turning all of the plot! That would be just unbearable! :D Anyway this is a very funny if somewhat thought-provoking story. Just brill!

Author's Response: Thanks. I like the movies too, but I wouldn't have liked them if they'd been like this.
Date: Dec 27 2008 11:22 am [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: Twisted Ingenue Signed
*dies* Thanks. You killed me. This... *shivers* I

Author's Response: Hmmm...well, I'll definitely come to the funeral. Sorry about that.
Date: Dec 20 2008 05:56 pm [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: Narya Signed
"I think my readers need a break from the sheer horror."

Not so much from the horror as from the side-splitting laughter, jules14...

Author's Response: Well, Im glad you thought it was funny. Thanks for the review.
Date: Oct 29 2008 09:21 am [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: elfenears Signed
lol i read most of this in one go. i conmend you on your humour and all the references to disney movies. i have to admit i love disney(in certain moods) and adore lord of the rings but i would die if they were ever mixed. the old cartoon versions were ba enough i only managed about half an hour of them before having to turn them off.
made my day this and thanks for writing

Author's Response: That's the way I feel. I'll always love certain Disney movies, but some stories are just never meant to be Disney-fied.
Date: Aug 26 2008 10:54 am [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed


Author's Response: Thanks.
Date: Aug 21 2008 11:22 am [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: atouchofhobbit Signed
I'm not sure whether to laugh, cry, or lose my lunch. It's fabulous, yet extremely nauseating. (Description of Aragorn sounds really familiar for some reason...)

Author's Response: I admit I got the "hawk-nosed Indian" description from Bakshi's animated version of Aragorn, so that's probably why it seems so familiar.
Date: Aug 17 2008 10:07 am [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: Anduril Signed
I didn't know wether to laugh or cry...
the sad thing is, that it would probably turn out like this where Disney to get their hands on the copywrite

Author's Response: I console myself with the thought that if they did, I could sue them for stealing my idea.
Date: Aug 17 2008 08:58 am [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: Ria Signed
I can't believe I've been so out of it that I missed reading this as soon as you updated. It's a great finish to a very clever (and fiendishly believable) parody.

Author's Response: Thank you. I just hope it's not so believable that Disney comes across it!
Date: Jul 13 2008 11:37 pm [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: Queen of the Unknown Signed
That was funny! I actually like Disney, though. To me, it's very sweet, and I love Beauty and the Beast.

That said, I do have nightmares of what they'd do if they did LOTR, Les Miserables, or Phantom of the Opera. LotR would basically be like what you just wrote. In Phantom, they'd turn Erik's deep character into one of those cliche villains, or worse, pull a Phangirl and make RAOUL the evil one and Erik Mr. Nice Fluffy Not-insane Not-Creepy Not-Dangerous-at-all. Ugh. And Les Mis...they'd make Javert evil, and give Valjean and Cosette a singing kitty, and they'd probably put Eponine and Enjorlas together, and make the Les Amis win. GAH!

Hmmm....maybe I should write a fic like this for Phantom of the Opera.

Author's Response: I'd definitely read it. You're probably right about what they'd do to it and Les Mis: poor Javert would be evil, Marius would be a brave, strong warrior and not the rather wimpy little bourgeois boy he was in the book, Valjean couldn't be a convict, because that's a bad influence on little kids...ugh.rnrnI like most of the old Disney movies that I remember from childhood: "Beauty and the Beast," "The Lion King," "Aladdin," "101 Dalmatians," "The Little Mermaid." However, I agree that Disney needs to stay away from the classic novels ("Hunchback of Notre Dame," anyone?) and the mythology (look at what they did to Greek mythology in "Hercules"!).
Date: May 30 2008 04:02 pm [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous
LOL what a surprise ending!I laughed but am very glad Tolkien had other ideas!

Author's Response: Definitely. Very squicky ending as well...fortunately, I'm pretty sure Tolkien stated in a letter that he hated the Disney Company and definitely didn't want them getting their hands on his work.
Date: Apr 22 2008 10:00 pm [Report This]
Title: Eagle Poop and Bad Elvish Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous
Most amusing!

Author's Response: Thank you!
Date: Apr 22 2008 09:58 pm [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: Venus In Furs Signed
This was incredible. I read the entire thing in one sitting, and my stomach hurts from laughing so much. Thank you!

Author's Response: No, thank YOU. Your compliments are very cheering.
Date: Apr 20 2008 12:01 am [Report This]
Title: CinderFaramir? Reviewer: Raksha The Demon Signed
CinderFaramir indeed!

That song does sound very Disneyish.

I hope poor Treebeard doesn't get foot-rot or some kind of disease from stepping on cheesy, wormy-tongued Grima...

Author's Response: I rather think the worm in his mouth will turn out to be a cute, happy little creature who was ruthlessly enslaved to Grima, and now that he's out, he'll cling to Treebeard's roots and then make a nice, new home in the soil of Fangorn...*gag*
Date: Apr 19 2008 10:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Springtime for Singing Sauron Reviewer: Raksha The Demon Signed
I suppose it could be worse - Eddie Murphy could be voicing Bill the Pony instead of Gimli.

I think poor Celeborn must have gone off on the Quest To Find Peter Jackson.

Author's Response: I agree that would be MUCH worse--the very idea of Bill the Pony TALKING is horrific. I actually think Celeborn would be quite thankful that he wasn't in this cartoon--in fact, was there even a Celeborn in the Bakshi cartoon? I haven't seen it, but I seem to remember someone saying there wasn't.
Date: Apr 19 2008 10:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Eagle Poop and Bad Elvish Reviewer: Raksha The Demon Signed
Actually, I can see Robin Williams voicing Tom Bombadil. But Robin Williams as Aragorn...Arrrggghhhh!

I'm trying not to think about the garbled Elvish.

So fiendish it's making me laugh.

Author's Response: Oh, Lord, Robin Williams as Tom would work better than him voicing Aragorn, but I can imagine how zany it would be. Whereas the Bombadil of the book was just nutty and eccentric, a Robin-Williams Bombadil would be utterly crazy and wild.rn
rnHey, at least the "Elvish" is a nice change from all the Grelvish used in Suefics.
Date: Apr 19 2008 09:59 pm [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: Raksha The Demon Signed
Oh, the horror!

And yet, it could be worse. I shall surely have nightmares considering the thought of Robin Williams voicing Gandalf.

You are entirely too fiendish!

Author's Response: Thanks; I take that as a compliment. I actually take a kind of pleasure in shocking people, and part of the attraction of writing this parody was the shock and horror everyone with a vivid imagination would have after reading it.
Date: Apr 19 2008 09:39 pm [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: Venus In Furs Signed
I just fell off my chair laughing!

Author's Response: Whoa...are you okay? ;)
Date: Apr 19 2008 08:09 pm [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: alu Signed
Ha! You've made me laugh helplessly even though I actually love most Disney movies - they're utterly ridiculous, but in a nostalgic way. You've hit all the Disney cliches head-on in the most cringe-inducing way possible. It's a twisted sort of genius.

Author's Response: Yeah; Disney, despite my nostalgia for their cartoons, has put so many cliches in them that they're easy to predict whenever they come up with something new--WHEN they actually come up with something new, that is, instead of all those dumb sequels.
Date: Apr 19 2008 11:25 am [Report This]
Title: The Triumph of True Love...and Money Reviewer: Formegil Signed
After this some awkward decisions made by Peter Jackson seem to be flashes of genius. This is very funny, though it's even too accurate. It is sure as an amen in a church that Disney version would have been like this, or even worse. The crowning of Frodo was a complete surprise (shouldn't have been, obviously it is too long a time since I last saw a Disney movie). And to think that I loved Disney films as a child... Well, at least I have always hated the songs. Excellent parody, this one.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm just happy Disney didn't get a hold of Lord of the Rings; I'm not sure if it would have been like this, but it sure as hell would have been nightmarish.
Date: Apr 19 2008 06:27 am [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: jouzinka Signed
For some reason I'm having a hard time finding this funny, although I do appreciate the effort that you put into it and I think it is very well written with rich fantasy and even though I usually enjoy LotR based humor. I just think it's not my cup of tea, but that happens. It caught my eyes simply because I agree to the bits with the statement that it all could have been much worse. =;)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. If you have any suggestions for improvement, though, don't hesitate to send them to me.
Date: Apr 19 2008 04:32 am [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
Hits the nail on the head with extreme accuracy and force.
I cannot stand Disney, hated it when I was a child, even. You've just reminded me why; the thought of Disney ever demolishing Tolkien like this caused a moment of murderous rage. Brilliant as always. * Imagines lowering Disney wholesale into the depths of Orodruin; in metal cages; very slowly. *
Hah, stuff you Disney-Sauron-with-Jeremy-Irons-voice, my dog could out-evil you and he's a complete wuss.

Author's Response: You hit the nail on the head with your review. Nice.
Date: Feb 09 2008 05:48 am [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed
This was SOOOO horribly GOOD!

Yep! LOTR was NEVER meant for children (much less for Disney).

Thank God Disney never approached Tolkien for rights to the books...

UGHHH!!! I shudder to think of it...

Author's Response: So do I. I think Tolkien once wrote in a letter that he hated Disney, so he wouldn't have let the company have the books anyway.
Date: Feb 08 2008 07:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Eagle Poop and Bad Elvish Reviewer: Celestial Signed
Wow...I would hate if Disney really made this movie! This is still funny.
Date: Feb 08 2008 06:54 pm [Report This]
Title: The Power of Friendship Reviewer: Celestial Signed
Oh my...the sad thing is I can see this all happening. The horror!
But this is...hilarious!
Date: Feb 08 2008 06:46 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.