You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Uvatha the Horseman Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/12 - 04:16 am Title: Meeting Sauron

quote ".. the curtains that ran around the stone walls to the rumpled white sheets on the sun-drenched bed." This is a powerful phrase. It creates intimacy with the character, before he has been seen.

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/10 - 01:24 pm Title: A New Beginning

Dear Sylc,

Well, if you do someday rewrite this (wow, what a daunting task, but how thrilling!), you might consider adding what I think might well be your missing masterpiece: the "Lindir's Funeral" chapter. I am going crazy imagining this now: who is there, who is not, what is said, what is felt, etc., etc. The idea of hundreds of elves suddenly coming to extend their "condolences" to Glorfindel about Lindir's mysterious demise is thought-provoking, to say the least!

So, despite the fact that the story is now officially finished, it's still ongoing in the mind of *one* reader, at least!

Thanks again for showing us such an engrossing (and occasionally grossing out!) universe!

Author's Response: Thank you, ebbingnight. That's a great idea; I'll have to consider it in the event of rewriting. It was my pleasure. I'm overjoyed that the story is lingering with you and that you found it that engrossing.

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/10 - 11:53 pm Title: A New Beginning

The only word that comes to mind to describe the story now is "Kafkaesque," which is not a word that I ever thought I'd be applying to LOTR fanfiction, lol!

The ambiguous conclusion of the "show trial," the insidious way in which the "rationalising" of mpreg seduces the judges and their minions into actions comparable in their cruelty to those for which the absent defendant(s) are (supposedly) standing trial, the several surprising methods with which the defendant(s) are able to manipulate the judges into releasing their key witness, the growing realization that this society is almost entirely built on pretense and actual lies, the many questions left unanswered about what actually happened and why, the lingering shame and sadness that even rebirth cannot erase, the flickering hope that some measure of reconciliation may come with time and care, the recognition that everyone is sometimes weak and wanting in some way, and that the guilty can be better than the good in certain situations... well, I could go on, but that's probably enough for one reader. Not an easy read, in any sense of the word, but a tremendous accomplishment by the author!

I don't suppose there's any chance of a final "afterword" someday? In particular, a meeting between Lindir and Laiglass?

Author's Response: Ha! Well, there's a first time for everything. :) I did, originally, intend to include a reunion between Lindir and Laiglas. Perhaps I will include it if and when I revise the story. Thank you, again, so much for your support; your generosity in sharing your thoughts regarding the story; and for simply reading and reviewing it. I doubt I would have finished this story without your input.

Reviewer: glorfindel Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04/09/10 - 12:10 pm Title: A New Beginning

I shall miss your story - it was a wonderful and highly enjoyable epic, even though it did make me squick a couple of times lol. I am so glad that I read it - definitely one of my favourites.

Hugs Binky xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Binky. I've really appreciated your ongoing support with this story; you were right there from the start. I'm so, so glad you enjoyed reading it so much and indescribably joyous that it remains one of your favourites. *hugs*

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/11/09 - 05:06 pm Title: A Mansion Of One's Own

These two brilliant new chapters remind me of the old adage: "Be careful what you wish for, as you may get it!" I very much wanted to see this story continued, but it is breaking my heart anew. Lindir's bond with Glorfindel has been annulled, his ultimately willing "use" by Sauron is public knowledge, he has no contact with Glorfindel or his children, he has nothing left to do but suffer one forced pregnancy after another and to endure memories of how he helped to hurt other elves until they died from much the same "treatment" as he is now receiving from the Valar .... and yet he has nowhere to go, and no way to end this. I now see the real advantages that humans have in *not* being immortal!

And yet I admire him far more than Glorfindel at this point, oddly enough.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you again, ebbingnight. I really enjoy and appreciate your reviews. I'm so glad that you're still enjoying reading this story (although "enjoying" doesn't really seem like the right word here). Thanks again!

Reviewer: VeronicaD13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/06/09 - 01:17 am Title: Manwe's Mirror

Oh my! This story has gotten darker and darker the more I read it. I'm not a fan of squick, but there are some parts in there that amaze me and keeps me reading!

I wonder why no one stepped in and told Manwe and Eonwe that what they are doing is wrong. I know Lindir did some really heinous stuff in the past but no one should have to suffer what he has at their hands. Where is Elbereth or Eru during all of this? Can't they do something? Why didn't Lindir say something about what happened earlier to Elrond or even better while he was in court with a ton of witnesses? Is there truly no one in Valinor that objects to rape - regardless of the desired result or the victim?

I hope that there is a happy end for at least Glorfindel. I don't know if I want him to stay with Lindir or not. I hope that Lindir does find out that Laiglas was partly responsible for Glorfindel's departure. What he said was totally out of line. Does he hope for a reconcilliation of his parents or something?

Update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, VeronicaD13, for your thoughtful and kind review. I really appreciate your positive feedback and am delighted that you've enjoyed the story so much so far. I also hope for a happy ending and am striving towards that goal. Thanks again!

Reviewer: chaotic binky Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 16/02/09 - 02:57 pm Title: Manwe's Mirror

More and more intriguing - will Lindir live? Will Glorfindel really leave him?

I especially liked the visions in the pool.

Looking forward to more. Hugs Binky xxxxx

Author's Response: Thanks, Binky. I'm glad you're finding the story engaging and intriguing, and that you're looking forward to more.

Reviewer: chaotic binky Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 16/02/09 - 02:20 pm Title: Lindo's Letter

This is so sad, Susan - Queen of squick!

I hope it is not too late for Lindir. Loved the scenes in the Orphanage and I am quite worried about the boy who has blood oozing from his bottom!

The dead bits of flesh used as sex toys has elevated you to the dizzying heights of all time forever Queen of Squickiness yuck yuck!

Anyway, Hope you are having fun,

Hugs Binky xxxxxxxx

Author's Response: Thank you for the thoughtful review, Binky; I really appreciate it. I especially appreciate being given the dubious honour of being named the Queen of Squick. I'm absolutely chuffed and getting a bit dizzy already. Thanks again. *hugs*

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/09 - 11:32 pm Title: Manwe's Mirror

I have to admit that I'm one of the "faint-hearted" readers you've said that this story is *not* for, but is there any chance that this will become less dark? LIndir has now lost everything for his crimes of having been so deluded by his misplaced love and loyalty, and his future now looks even bleaker than his past, even if Glorfindel makes this half-hearted attempt to save him. (I can't help think that if the situations were reversed, LIndir would never have left him to suffer alone.) The devastating part of all this is not in the details, gruesome as they have sometimes been, but in the very fact that the Valar are largely responsible for so much suffering. If that *is* the point, I guess I've answered my own question. But you write this brilliantly, regardless of my personal preference for *some* redemption, somewhere!

Author's Response: Again, thank you; I very much appreciate it. To answer your question, I do not know the ending yet, but I am aiming for a much less dark resolution, at least for Glorfindel and Lindir.

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/09 - 01:20 am Title: Manwe's Mirror

Read the whole story since your posting of Chapter 51 just now, and find it both horrific and terrific. There is no balm in Valinor....

Author's Response: Thank you, so much, for your feedback. I'm delighted that you've enjoyed reading what I've written and posted of the story so far; thank you for communicating this to me; I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: chaotic binky Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 27/11/08 - 05:55 pm Title: Gildor and Penlod

I think I can see why the Valar are doing these horrid things to Lindir. Still enjoying your story, Hugs Binky xxxxx

Author's Response: Oh, do you now, you clever girl! *grin* I'm delighted that you're still enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and leaving a comment. Treasures in my inbox.

Reviewer: chaotic binky Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 27/11/08 - 04:48 pm Title: Estel and the Orphanage

This is so sad.

Hugs Binky xxxx

Author's Response: Glad to have moved you. Thanks, Binky!

Reviewer: fraublucher Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/08 - 05:29 pm Title: Finding Halmir

Yay! I'm so glad I logged on today and saw that this story had been updated. I had almost given up hope as it's been close to a year since the last chapter was posted. Thank you so much for updating and keep up the good work. I'm loving this story's dark themes.

Author's Response: Oh no, thank *you* for reading, letting me know that you enjoy this story so much, and your kind words of encouragement. It's such a delight and inspiring to know that other people appreciate your work. Thanks again.

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/09/07 - 01:57 pm Title: Ecthelion's Advice & Enw's Attack

...What just happened? But he's working for...unless he's...Ok...
Glorfindel can't leave! :(
Thanks for updating!

Author's Response: *frowns, nods, smugly smiles*rnrnOh, but Glorfindel IS leaving (but we will stay with him on his travels and his mind will still think of Lindir).rnrn*big big hugs* Glad you're still reading this story, Gemini Elf. Thanks so much. :)

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/07/07 - 06:33 pm Title: Lunch 2

Hi, sorry I didn't review sooner, I had a mountain of coursework to get through, but I'm finally in the Summer Holidays!
Great chapter, hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Oh, no problem at all, darling. :) I've recently been busy with other matters in my life too so no worries at all. Glad to hear you're finally in your holidays and hope you have an awesome break. Glad you enjoyed the chapter and thanks so much for reviewing. *huggles*

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/07 - 11:44 am Title: Lunch

Wow, you updated fast! Great chapter. I wonder what Sauron does feel for Lindir...I'm also a bit O.o as to what Lindir feels about Laiglas

Author's Response: Hee. I was inspired. Thanks so much, Gemini. :) So glad you're still enjoying this story.

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/07/07 - 06:49 pm Title: Absence Makes The Heart Grow... Less Fond?

Looks like Lindir's still got some difficult decisions ahead of him... I still LOVE this story and hope you update it soon!

Author's Response: What about poor ol' meee! It's so hard being an omnipotent author!!! (;___;) So many decisions (as you would know). xDDD Hee. Glad you're still enjoying this story, Gemini. Thank you, darling.

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/05/07 - 05:20 pm Title: Cold Night

Many thanks for the update!
Kick Glorfindel so that he goes back to Lindir and talks some sense into that elf, especially should he recall his "talk" with Laiglas!
Mh, somehow I cantt believe that Sauron loves Lindir, he is just useful. But till now you havent given many clues what Sauron is plotting - perhaps there is some feeling left?
I dont know if I should like or despise Silmo - in the beginning he was so ... (loss of convenient word), but now he seems really concerned for Lindirs relation with Glorfindel (and he keeps his hands off of Lindir).
And when will Linden finally see what a crap her brother is! At least I believe she likes Lindir andGlorfindel - she heard Laiglas talk and saw what it did to Glorfindel, why did she not intervene, or goes to talk with Lindir!
Update soon, please.
Tinara
You dont have to answer all questions now, Im sure all will be revealed in due time. :-)

Author's Response: Oh, you are welcome. Thank you so very much for your detailed response. :) I appreciate it. I agree with you re Linden... and Lindo for that matter. They need to work out their priorities and take a bit of action. I am working on an update - am about halfway so far. Hopefully I will be able to post it soon. I'm a little swamped at the moment, though, unfortunately. @_@ Thanks again, Tinara. *huggles*

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/05/07 - 12:26 pm Title: Cold Night

O.O I read Tinara's review, and was shocked by your reply. I hadn't even considered Laiglas liking Lindir in that way!
Poor Lindir. What a mess.
Hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Aww, I spoiled the surprise for you!!! *hugs* Laiglas does like Lindir in that way and you'll see more of their developing relationship very soon. :) Thanks, Gemini. So glad you're still following and enjoying this story.

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/04/07 - 01:30 pm Title: Silver Fire

Great how the story is developing. I cant shake the feeling, that Laiglas wants Lindir for himself - some chapters ago the scene between Laiglas and Lindir and now his words to Glorfindel...
I also wonder about Saurons behaviour - was he angry about the ork having some "fun" or because so many "useful servants" died or did he expect the orks to treat Lindir differently? I also wonder what now Ranas fate may be - fast death or especially cruel life?
Please update soon, Tinara

Author's Response: *claps* Keep that feeling; you're spot on about Laiglas. As for Sauron, he was not angry, he just thought that he would be better off with the orc dead and replaced by someone else. The orc was a liar, corrupt, incompetent, using an elf for his own purposes... a far from loyal servant. I wonder what Rana's fate will be too. Haven't decided on it yet. Happy you're enjoying the story so much. Thank you, tinara! :)

You must login (register) to review.