Reviews For Taming The Wild
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/03/11 - 01:03 am Title: Long Awaited Confession

Oh, it's so nice they can finally admit their feelings for each other! It's sort of bittersweet though too, with Leggy's distraction and admission of wanting to go to the sea, but no relationship is perfect and it's just another complication they'll have to work on together. I really like this softer, kinder gentler Rhav. She's tender and loving, maybe Leggy makes her that way. It's almost refreshing, like a weight has been lifted off her and sort of off the reader! It's nice to see them both vulverable at the same time. They sort of prop each other up, and fill in the other's cracks, make up for the other's weaknesses. I can just hear and see your version of Gimli talking. He's so grumpy and ornery. He must be fun to write! Oh, yeah, and the whole thing there where Leggy is talks about how he feels called to the sea is a fantastic black moment. I didn't really know if they were going to move on together past that revelation. You went all philosophical there for a minute too. It's kind of like a curse that Rhav can't hear of see the beauty in things like Leggy can. Ironic and rather sad that her greatest strength is her greatest weakness. Rhav definatly has some perspective on life now, that she wouldn't have had if she had stayed in Mirkwood or even in lorien. It's a nice slow believable progression of both character's personalities and their romance.

Author's Response: I'm glad Rhav is coming across that way for you. Not only has a weight been lifted off her and the reader, but me too. She is an exhausting character to write for. As far as Gimli, I just love the little guy. I see him as grumpy and complaining but that is just a front. He loves Legolas dearly and now Rhav. His scenes always flow so easily when writing for him. And the reason Rhav can't hear or feel what Legolas can of the sea is because she has not been called. To me it is like something buried deep within every elf. It is something they don't know about until the time comes for them to part M E. But Legolas was exposed to it prematurely and it has hit him ten fold. So when Rhav tries to listen for it, she cannot hear it. She only hears what's around her, which happens to be a war-torn city. Legolas is hearing the call of the undying lands and that extends beyond M E. Rhav keeps Legolas from giving into his sea longing and Legolas keeps her from burying herself in thoughts of fighting. They are balancing themselves out and that can only mean a greater bond eventually and of course some great romance.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/03/11 - 07:29 pm Title: Moving On In Lothlorien

Soooo sad! Not going to lie, got a bit teary!

Author's Response: Aw : - ( I don't like to see anyone cry but I'm glad it moved you.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/03/11 - 07:21 pm Title: The Healing Pool

That's a really good take on it, I never thought about the way the Ring would effect others beyond the Ring-Bearer. Awesome penmanship!

Author's Response: I like to think that it would to a point. It happened at the councel of Elrond after all and I feel the elves might be a little more susceptible to it's power than men. Thanks again Irial.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 10:51 am Title: Training and Battle

W.O.W I'm so intrigued as to what will happen between Rhav and Haldir. What a messy love triangle this is turning out to be!

Author's Response: First of all, it's nice to meet you Irial. Thank you for reading and reviewing. I usually try to answer each review but chose to respond to all of yours for this one. I'm so glad you are enjoying the story. Lots of ups and downs in this one but soon the rollercoaster will even out. There's more to come and the story itself is coming to a close. Rhavaniel has touched me deeply and I can still see her in different situations even after this is complete. I never know where my mind with wander to. Again, thank you so much for all the encouraging reviews. It was a nice little surprise for this stormy Monday morning.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 10:24 am Title: The Prisoner

I really like the change of pace in your story. Keeps everything alive and moving : )

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 10:18 am Title: When Hearts Collide

I love the challenge in the aftermath. It's so like them! Great writing, I've been smiling like an idiot the whole time reading this. Really great stuff. I'm jealous of your skill!

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 10:03 am Title: The Prince's Best Day

I love the mention of the Dwarves. Legolas is so cute when he's blushing!

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 09:58 am Title: Legolas' Secret

So upsetting for both of them that they can't be where they want to be. I know the feeling. You've captured it well.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 09:48 am Title: The Contest

Uh-Oh! So far I'm hook, line and sinkered into this story. So captivating!!!

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 09:41 am Title: Bait and Switch

Awwwww so sad!

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 09:32 am Title: The Dance

The dance scene made me laugh. They are SO awkward! Love this stuff, you are a really good story teller : )

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 09:24 am Title: Game Over

This is really REALLY good, I'm loving the tension between Legolas and Rhavaniel and the uniqueness of their story together. Really good stuff.

Author's Response: Hello there. I see you have written a string of reviews which I am very grateful for. I'll just sum it all up in your lastest one. Thanks for all the kind words.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 01:46 am Title: Learning Patience

It's nice to see her being compassionate here, and putting someone else's needs ahead of her own. It seems like she's starting to grow up now.

Author's Response: She has had an epiphany I guess you could say. Besides, what elf would say no to helping the injured, even Rhav. And of course because it is Faramir, it kind of completes the circle.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/02/11 - 01:17 pm Title: Learning Patience

Wonderful chapter- love it htat its Faramir she is asked to help with and Aragorns' entrance is a nice touch. I liked too his cryptic comments about Legolas being changed etc. Great to see this- need to go back and review hte chapters I have whizzed through in my anxiety to get to the end!!

Author's Response: Thanks ziggy. Aragorn is not in this much and I wanted to show his softer side. War is over and he's glad to see his best friends elleth has made it through. He also knows she may be the only one to help Legolas at this point and politely sends her on her way. As I told aur, I see a long lasting friendship with Faramir and Eowyn, especially Eowyn. I think Rhav could use a female friend like our brave shieldmaiden, though the guys may not approve right away, lol.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/02/11 - 12:48 am Title: Learning Patience

Parts of this, like the begining and the part where Faramir says the tea is horrible are very humorous! Rhav's maturity shows through in this chapter. the whole thing is over before she even knows it! you've showed her compassionate side here too, and it's a nice thing to see since we've seen so much of how ruthless she can be. She has matured and very quickly too, but then, she's forced to, isn't she. It's not like a total switch in her personality either. I think she is a very compassionate person. This chapter is well written and a smooth and easy read. I'm wondering what will happen next!

Author's Response: I think being locked up and forced to face your demons might sober anyone up, even Rhav. She just wants to get back to something familiar, but she can't turn down someone begging for help either. Of course, the fact that it is Faramir makes it that much more important to her. You are right, she is being forced to hold back, divine intervention maybe? She is a warrior and knows where her place is, but yet when asked to stay and help, she puts those feelings aside to do what she can to bring comfort. This is all just preparing her for what is to come.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/02/11 - 07:04 pm Title: Not This Day

This is a sweeter side of Rhav, the "new" Rhav if you will. I know she was dying to go battle, but it is very comforting and more noble to sit with someone who is dying. This I have experience from my profession, during my time as an RN on an onocology unit. People are always afraid of being alone at the very end; I am glad she stayed. Would have liked to know her thoughts about the sitatuion, since she is an Elf and Faramir is a Man.

Author's Response: I guess I hadn't really thought of that since we all know Faramir doesn't die. But I think the experience would have humbled her even more. When I wrote this chapter, I was so tired after writing the previous battles. I just didn't have it in me to write another one. That's where Faramir came in. He was my 'out' I guess you could say. And Rhav really needed to be calmed. Battle would only get her excited again.

Reviewer: Signofthetimes Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 08:35 pm Title: The Ambassador Returns

Sad, mad Denethor, I'm glad he makes an appearance, one of my favourite characters but not one that turns up much in fan fiction. I like Rhav's introspection in the prison cell, let's hope she turns the corner soon!

Author's Response: I think Rhav has no choice but to change at this point. It may not be easy but it's necessary.

Reviewer: haldirsbaby Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 03:12 am Title: The Ambassador Returns

Bad BAD girl. you killed off Haldir...Traitor!...My heart aches....

Great story..is there anyway you can add alternate chapter where Haldir does not die?

Author's Response: I know, I know. I'm sorry. I know how much you care. Leggi says he will punish me later for doing what I did and he won't stop until I learn my lesson (which I don't think I'll be learining any time soon,lol). But just remember, no elves were actually harmed in the making of this story. Hal is still alive somewhere and if I know him, he's standing right behind you.

Reviewer: AmberRoseEm Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 01:17 am Title: The Ambassador Returns

I'm a little confused by this chapter, it feels rushed within it compared to the timeline of the movie. I thought the beacons were lit before Denethor brought Faramir to be burned. If she arrived at that point wouldn't there be a huge army out front? I was otherwise able to follow her story and I'm glad she found her hope. Until the last chapter I wasn't sure where she would ultimately end up in the battle!

Author's Response: I may have changed it a bit just to get it to fit a little better. I'm following the basics of the movie but not strictly. I needed to get her there after Gandalf but with the purpose of meeting Denethor. Having her trying to intervene with the burning of Faramir needed to happpen in order for her to be thrown in jail. Like I said, I'm not following too close on the timeline, but we all get the general idea.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 10:27 pm Title: The Ambassador Returns

Nice way to keep the action and story moving forward. I can definately see all the story lines clicking into place and everything falling together. I hope she gets to meet Eowyn. I think they would have alot in common!

Author's Response: She does meet Eowyn, though it's not really a part of this story. I imagine Rhav and Legolas becoming close friends with them, especially after Ithilien and Osgiliath are rebuilt. Actually, I can see Rhav and Eowyn becoming great friends leaving Faramir and Legolas to wonder if they've created some kind of estrogen monster, lol.

You must login (register) to review.