You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/02/08 - 04:38 pm Title: Self-Destruction

Excellent work! And I guess there is more coming!

Author's Response: There is more. It might take a little while before I can get it ready, though.

Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/02/08 - 04:31 pm Title: The Excited Media

W O W! You have done it again. This chapter rocks! Keep posting more. I cant get enough of this story...

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/02/08 - 04:51 pm Title: Self-Destruction

That's brilliant! And I love the connection with the rise of the ancient civilizations and the way Gondor turned within, it all rings so true. Superb and great food for thought, as always, although I am baffled as to Katie's depression and malaise. As ever, you tell just enough and not too much!

Author's Response: Well, you'll find out more as it progresses. Glad it seemed believable; I was a bit worried that it wouldn't.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/08 - 06:33 pm Title: Madness

I am determined to put this review somewhere but when I tried for your Hogwarts MST it kept getting eaten, so I am trying it here, since it also fits as a review for this, in a way.
Your MST was terrific, as always. No, the story was bleedin' awful except for your part at the end, with your OC's and canons in it. Brilliant.
Although this is parodying something, when you write, I get the taste of your ' serious ' writing. [ Although I think this MST stuff must be harder than any other kind of writing, actually ] .
Best way I can put it is that It reminds me of the first time I read the Hobbit, which is for children, but there were glimpses in it of what Tolkien actually could do. When I read; '' They were come to the Desolation of the Dragon, and they were come at the waning of the year. '' .
I felt that was not a sentence written for children, a child's author would probably have worded it something like : '' When they to the Desolation of the Dragon,autumn had come. '' etc.
From there on, to the Battle of Five Armies, I felt I had seen something between the pages which was immense and mythic and beautiful. I felt Tolkien was a stupendous author *pretending* to be a child's author for the duration of '' The Hobbit '' .
I get that feeling reading your MST's, certain sentences written by you give a hint of just how brilliantly you can unfold '' The Search for Middle-earth. '' I felt that with your '' epilogue '' on The Hogwarts/Fellowship MST. I don't feel you're * pretending * to be a '' children's author '' or satirist, you certainly can write humor and satire, but it's the same glimpse into some-one's potential: This is wonderful, and there's more , is how I feel, I think.
Sazza's story was just pants, frankly. I feel a bit mean saying that since I don't know HP, but a good story would have made me want to go and read the original, I think, not start twitching.

Author's Response: Thanks. You were right at the end. She pretty much raped Harry Potter--which WAS actually a children's book written by a children's author--as well as Tolkien.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/08 - 05:14 am Title: The Excited Media

Wow, amazing chapter; and I love the different viewpoints here. I would be rather like Katie, I would somehow think it was incredibly disrespectful, although that would depend on whether I knew it was Minas Tirith or not. If not, it would be an incredible find I would want to know more about. Yes, I think souvenir shops etc are tawdry, but I imagine - in a tasteful way - you even get them at Auschwitz.
This is so incredibly exciting, you know just when to turn up the action, and I am longing to know how [ and who ] attacked Minas Tirith.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/08 - 08:08 pm Title: The Excited Media

Oh * insert swearwords *, I am just this minute going to bed, I am going to read this as soon as I get on tomorrow and review properly. I swear I just felt as astounded as Alex, the way you wrote of him seeing the ancient city on the tv! Brilliant!

Author's Response: Sounds good. I'll wait for your review tomorrow.

Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/01/08 - 12:58 am Title: Faris

What could Gandalf possibly want with a terrorist group...? Faris and Maglor have some things in common.

This story never ceases to amaze me. Keep updating!

Author's Response: I will...and you'll find out.

Reviewer: Scribetothehighking Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/01/08 - 12:56 am Title: The Wraiths in the Rock

You are a very gifted writer. I love this story because of its depht and reality... Please, continue updating.

Author's Response: I will. And thank you for that email. I'm very pleased to know that I inspired someone, and am anxious to read your stories.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/08 - 06:38 pm Title: Storm and Shooting

“How many Men are left?” I don't know why that just jumped out at me, as I don't know why Maglor said it. But my theory has always been that orcs interbred with Men - or rather women , [ who might be able to survive it whereas Elves would die ] . Frodo mentioned a '' Squint eyed southerner '' in Bree, who looked '' more than half like a Goblin '' and Treebeard suggested Saruman had been mingling the races of Orcs and Men and called it a '' black evil ''. So that was my theory from 20 years ago; orcs bred with men and there you have it, instant orc blood; people who like destroying things, violence, vandalism for no reason, brutality, anything loud, bloody and senselessly violent.

And if Mordor was located in the Middle east that also may explain why people have been warring there for thousands of years and still are. [ No, the oil is just a coincidence! >.< ] It's the bad vibes!

Author's Response: Nice theory there. I'll have to see if I can take it anywhere, but I like it. You should turn that idea into a story.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/08 - 10:07 am Title: Faris

Wow, yes am I following it! It's enthralling and so original. I don't like '' girl-from-modern-era-falls-into-Middle-earth '' stories, but having Middle-earth as a '' lost history '' and setting the story now is completely different.
There's a dormant volcano in the Elburz Mountains north of Tehran and the area is subject to many earthquakes. Although to compare a Middle-earth map with an atlas Mount Demarvend is not in the correct place to be Orodruin, it's still very interesting. The long mountain wall of the Zagros [ about 1500 kilometers north to south ] and the Elburz to the north and east do make me think of the Ephel Duath and the Ered Lithui.

On a map, it is one of the closest '' matches '' to that region of Middle-earth, if you were working on the premise that the maps Tolkien drew were either deliberately or genuinely mis-drawn. I am sure there are other places , but with those two great Sea's , the Black and Caspian also being close and possibly one being the Sea of Rhun, it * fits * well.

I just love the ancient threads from that time stretching to this Age and how it meshes so well. It's really hard to combine '' modern and Middle-earth '' without it sounding '' clunky '', but this is flawless. There's so many mysteries; I keep asking myself how did Minas Tiriith vanish, where are the Dwarves? What did Faris see? I'm just reading it all again actually, lol. And the looming '' apocalyptic '' feel of this world just increases the tension.

Author's Response: Oh, my God, that's interesting! I'm really going to have to find an atlas now.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/08 - 07:29 am Title: Faris

I was looking at an Atlas and wondered if the Zagros were the Ephel Duath and the mountain range north of Tehran, the Elburz Mnts, were remnants of the Ered Lithui and the Caspian Sea was the Sea of Rhun [ or the Black Sea, depending on how much the geography was changed ]. An orc skull? It would make sense if that region had been Mordor or close to it . There's also a Salt Desert north and the Barren Desert further south, which made me think of Lithlad and Gorgoroth. Yes, you've got me looking at Atlas' now, and it was 6.30 a.m.! You are wonderful at just '' teasing '' the reader with hints and winding the tension up and keeping us gagging for more! Thanks for that update - with bells on!

Author's Response: I'll have to look at this atlas, but I did have the idea that Mordor was in this area. I'm so glad you're still following this story; your reviews mean a lot to me.

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/08 - 03:58 am Title: Faris

With every chapter, you keep my interest piqued. This is a truly original tale.

Faris seems like a Faramir figure, and not only because of the coincidence of sound between their names.

Author's Response: Hmmm...this is actually the first time I noticed the similarity of their names. But yes, I wanted to make Faris into somebody like Faramir or Beleg Cuthalion--brave, loyal, and truly dedicated. He's meant to almost be a contrast with Robert Tilton who, despite his original enthusiasm for Gandalf's work, goes the wrong way about expressing his enthusiasm--i.e. ignoring his family's displeasure--and, in the end, loses interest completely because he feels that "his job is done."

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/01/08 - 05:26 am Title: Storm and Shooting

This is such an enthralling story, I was so thrilled to see you'd updated so I could read it first thing! So what is in the Zagros Mountains? O.o. Excellent!

Author's Response: You'll find out.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/08 - 03:54 pm Title: The Wraiths in the Rock

Did I mention how much I love this story, by the way? I'm still re-reading it d:-)

Author's Response: You did, many times. :) I'll be updating as soon as I can.

Reviewer: Nieriel Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/08 - 11:25 pm Title: Madness

I like how you are writing this as a story...I somewhat expected a more documentary-style work, but this is very good so far, I like it.

Author's Response: Thanks.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/12/07 - 06:20 am Title: The Wraiths in the Rock

Re: You asked about the North Coast of Scotland. If you google image North West Scotland, there are plenty of pics showing how lonely it is. [ There are actually lovely beaches but the water is always darn cold even in summer ] and lots of different coast, from 400 foot cliffs to sand beaches, rocky shorelines as you spoke of, so no, there's any sort of beach there and I could really see the hobbit's being there.

Author's Response: Okay; thanks.

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/12/07 - 04:26 am Title: The Wraiths in the Rock

That's a sad way to see the hobbits at last. How do they know that those are the last hobbits in the world, though?

Author's Response: I suppose I shouldn't have said "know," but "feel." Because you're right that they wouldn't know for sure. I can change it pretty quickly.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/12/07 - 08:39 pm Title: The Wraiths in the Rock

Aww, poor things! :( And I was wondering where they would go. Tom Bombadil's, of course.
The north/north west coast of Scotland is ideal, some of it is incredibly wild and not accessible by road even now, and the very north is the domain of the serious hikers and walkers, so it would be a good '' last place '', to go, even now it's very, very lonely - but cold and bleak. They're going to need a lot of care and good food. I'm really glad you have updated this, I've been waiting in anticipation! Wonderful and engrossing!

Author's Response: Thanks. Anything I got wrong in writing about the north coast of Scotland, though?

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/07 - 12:05 pm Title: Peredhil

I love the way Elladan and Elrohir are portrayed in this story ( and they have not even been in it much ) I feel it slanders them horribly to have them written of as : '' Oh, we are jolly japesters, let's pour honey down Estel's breeches, hur, hur, hur, and now let's fart to the tune of the Lay of Leithien. '' Argh! I also love the idea they stayed behind, since I can find no real evidence that they did not, or any that they chose to be counted among men and die as Arwen did - though people have different opinions. They seem just as I always envisaged them. ( You don't have to respond to all my reviews, it must be a pain in the bum! )

Author's Response: Quick comments: Elladan and Elrohir being portrayed as the Weasely twins of Middle-earth pisses me off too.rnAnd I have a weird sense of humor, but I'd love to hear somebody fart to the tune of the Lay of Leithian.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/07 - 08:31 am Title: The Elf's Tale

It reduces me to tears to think of Maglor like this, having to beg and survive and just dwindling, and so alone :( With such a past, a heritage, so tragic and so wondrous, to come to this - I can quite imagine it too. I don't like to, but reading this, I can, with great clarity. So well written. I wanted to take him home, give him my home made chicken soup, run out for a couple of good bottles of wine and tuck him up in the spare room. I can imagine my partner. Me: '' He's Maglor so of FŰanor and he's staying here for a bit. '' Kev: '' Oh, right. 70 quid a week rent. '' Me: '' I'll give you such a kicking in a minute, I'll pay his bleeding rent, tightar*se! '' Kev : '' Ok. You think he'd like to play LOTRO? '' Me: O.o [ That would all be true ] I so hope Maglor goes home. His lonliness and displacement comes across so poignantly, you have captured it so incredibly well.

You must login (register) to review.